SPRINGFIELD, NJ - As part of the annual reorganization process, the Springfield Township Committee welcomed two new members to the dais and swore in a new mayor.

Along with the members of the township committee, several guests were in attendance. State Senator Tom Kean Jr. was at the reorganization meeting, along with State Assembly members John McKeon and Nancy Munoz and Former Springfield Mayors David Barnett, Joanne Rajoppi and Clara Harelik. Union County Freeholder Bruce Bergen was also in the crowd.

Chris Weber and Alex Keiser, winners of the November 2018 township committee election took their respective oaths of office. Weber chose Barnett to swear him him, while Keiser, who is Chief of Staff for Assemblyman McKeon, chose his boss to do the honors. Along with their swearing in Weber and Keiser received certificates from Rajoppi, who is currently the Union County Clerk, certifying their electoral victory as legitimate.

Sign Up for Springfield Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

For Weber, the end of the election cycle is exciting, but he said it was now time to hit the ground running.

"[I'm] happy that the campaigning is over," Weber said. "Happy that 2019 is here and we can finally get to work and do some good for the residents of Springfield."

For Keiser, among the host of issues he hopes to tackle during his time on the committee, climate change is among  the top, He said that he would work toward solutions, adding,"In my three years, I'm committed to making sure we have some sustainable practices implemented, we reduce our carbon footprint and we [have] forward-thinking policies here in Springfield."

Erica Dubois was also sworn in as the new mayor at the ceremony. She had previously served as Deputy Mayor under Richard Huber. For her swearing in ceremony, Dubois had Freeholder Bergen administer the oath of office.

"I'm very excited to get started," Dubois said. "There's a lot going on and I'm excited to be leading the charge for the great things happening in our community."

Along with swearing in new members, the township committee also reorganized their subcommittees. Keiser became the chair of the Department of Revenue and Finance and also joined the Department of Administration. Weber became the chair for the Department of Public Safety and is also working with the Department of Public Affairs. Dubois will chair the Department of Public Affairs and will work with Keiser in Revenue and Finance.

Additionally, Committeeman Chris Capodice will chair the Department of Administration and work on the Department of Public Works, while outgoing Mayor Huber will chair the Department of Public Works and join Weber on the Department of Public Safety.