SPRINGFIELD, NJ - In a recent Facebook post, the Springfield Police Department posted a reminder for parents and their children about proper bicycle helmet use.
The laws surrounding bicycle helmet use in New Jersey are as such:
In New Jersey, anyone under 17 years of age that rides a bicycle or is a passenger on a bicycle, or is towed as a passenger by a bicycle mustwear a safety helmet...
...All helmets must be properly fastened and fitted. Bicycle helmets must meet the federal standards developed by the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) effective March 10, 1999 that ensure the best head protection and strong chin straps to keep the helmet in place during a fall or collision.
The police post went into further detail about what would happen to parents or legal guardians of juveniles found in violation of the law, saying that they may receive a summons and can be fined up to $25.00 for the first offense, with penalties increasing for subsequent offenses.
The police also noted that the law would be enforced by this Department, and asked parents and guardians to discuss helmet safety with their children, in order to help us to keep children in the community safe.