SPRINGFIELD, NJ — After another successful season, the Jonathan Dayton Boys Cross Country team received their reward at Monday night's Springfield Board of Education (BOE) meeting.

The team won the 2019 Valley Division Championship. Dayton Head Coach Dave Campbell broke down the team's successes after the meeting.

"We won the championship on Oct. 15th," Campbell said. "And we repeated, we won it the year prior."

Sign Up for Springfield Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The squad also finished fifth in the section and qualified for the Group 1 Championship for the fifth year in a row as a team, finishing in 18th place.

In individual honors, Daniel Galao-Birkmann, Ian McLeer, Luke Hernandez and Harrison Turner all finished first team all-valley conference.

As Campbell noted, the team's now-lengthy tradition of success was able to continue on, even after the graduation of a number of talented seniors in the class of 2019. This was something that gave him a lot of pride in his athletes.

"I was very proud," Campbell said. "We graduated so much talent last year, that I was kind of thinking this was going to be a gap year. And it was obvious that a lot of the kids put the work in in the summer, running a lot of miles to get ready for this. And they pushed each other in practice. When it came down to the money time, these guys were ready to play. That made me very happy."

And with another division title safely in the bag, there is only one thing left for the Dayton boys to do; defend it again.

Fall 2019 Jonathan Dayton Boys Cross Country team; Valley Division Champions:

SENIORS; Nicholas DiCosmo, Aren Mortensen, Noah Schraeder (UCVTS), Albin Seby and Roy Traina. JUNIORS; Alexander Choi, Daniel Galao-Birkmann (UCVTS), Matthew Fleishman (magnet), Jordan Frei, Luke Hernandez,  Aaron Katalbas, Francesco Sarracino, Ryan Sickinger, Harrison Turner and Zachary Vilensky. SOPHOMORES; Ian Kaesshaefer, Ian McLeer, Sean Myrthil and Christopher Ortiz. FRESHMAN; Sebi Bazizi, Conrad Chen, Connor Codina, Gatzlen Derival, Corey Fishman, Allan Jean-Baptiste, Thomas Madden, Jaydan Martinez, Jonathan Mlawski, Colin Reily, David Rocha, Alexander Sun (UCVTS) and Jackson Turnbull.