SPRINGFIELD, NJ — This preview is part of a series that was slated to run and highlight members of the Spring sports teams at Jonathan Dayton High School. Without sports of any kind in the picture this spring, TAPinto Springfield will still be running the previews as a way to highlight the key performers who had their upcoming seasons stolen by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 2020 team is led by four seniors who have returned from last year's squad and some talented underclassmen. This group has an immense amount of potential and can compete in conference, county and state play.


Sign Up for Springfield Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Senior Victoria Delia is expected to play CF and be an everyday hitter in the lineup. She is on track to be the fourth player in Dayton’s history to achieve her 100th hit. Faith Scott will be looked at to lead the Bulldogs offensively and is a returning lefty power hitter in the line-up. Casey Janker has been a constant producer in the line-up the last three years for the Bulldogs and brings a calming confidence to the team.  Haeley Santos is an all-around athlete and will help the team both defensively and offensively.  


Nicole Cataldo and Jesse Thompson will lead the Bulldogs on the mound this year.  With their three years varsity experience, they have matured greatly and command a confident presence on the mound. They will have fellow Juniors Kaya Mahy (SS), Kolby Dagner (3B), Rachel Rodrick (C), Abby Wilson (OF), and Janauria Singleton (OF), helping them dominate the diamond. Short-stop Kaya Mahy received All-Conference honors last season and lead the team with an on base percentage of .556, slugging percentage of 1.048, 28 RBIs, and 9 home runs.


The Bulldogs have a talented sophomore and freshmen group who features some players that are returning with varsity experience. Those players are Sophomores Megan Vesey and Adrianna Yueling, as well Freshmen Deanna Dubois and Rosanna Tilelli. These underclassmen are constantly competing for a spot in the varsity line-up and are keeping the coaching decisions difficult.


Deanna Dubois.         9

Rosanna Tilelli.          9


Megan Vesey.          10

Adrianna Yueling.     10


Nicole Cataldo.          11

Kolby Dagner.           11

Kaya Mahy.                11

Rachel Rodrick.         11

Janauria Singleton.    11

Jesse Thompson.       11

Abigail Wilson.           11


Victoria Delia.         12

Casey Janker.        12

Haeley Santos.       12

Faith Scott.             12