STAFFORD - The Stafford Township Police Department held their annual awards ceremony on Wednesday.  This ceremony honors specific officers for their exemplary work throughout the year.  Four officers received awards at this event. 





Captain Herman Pharo was the recipient of the medal of Police Excellence for his completion of the FBI National Academy.  The National Academy is a professional development course for law enforcement leaders.  Less than 1 percent of law enforcement officers worldwide are invited to attend this prestigious program.  Captain Pharo is a graduate of the 269th Session.  

Sign Up for E-News




Patrolman Adam Sherer was the recipient of a Lifesaving medal.  On September 7, 2017, while off-duty and surfing in Long Beach Township, Patrolman Sherer observed a surfer who fell off his surfboard and was in distress.  Sherer observed the surfer going under several times and heard him call out for help.  The officer immediately paddled over to the surfer, reached down into the water and pulled the surfer back to the surface and brought him to shore.  The surfer commented that if not for Patrolman Scherer advised that but for Ptl. Sherer's swift response to his call for assistance, he most certainly would have drowned.




Ptl.  Mark Povlosky was selected by his fellow officers as the recipient of the 2017 Police Officer of the Year award.  The award is presented to the officer who demonstrates a quality work ethic, a high degree of professionalism, motivation, dedication and integrity thus enhancing the police image and distinguishing themselves within the law enforcement community.  This is the second time Ptl. Povlosky has been selected as the recipient of the Police Officer of the Year award.




Ptl. Joseph Luna was selected by the membership of the Stafford Township Police Department as the recipient of the Rick Drappi award.  The Drappi award is presented to the police officer who demonstrates the unselfish dedication, pride and concern for others that Rick Drappi lived every day.  The award is named in honor Ptl. Rick Drappi who was killed in a freak motor vehicle accident in 1978.  Ptl. Luna is a two time recipient of the Drappi Award.

Pictured below is Captain Pharo followed from l to r by Ptl. Sherer, Ptl. Povlosky and Ptl. Luna.