Health & Wellness

State Infant/Child Car Seat Rules Currently in Effect

Credits: facebook.com/summitpd/photos

TRENTON, NJ - Effective September 1, 2015, legislation set in place revised parameters relative to the use of infant / child car seats in the Garden State. New Jersey guidelines currently mandate the following:

Newborn to Age 2

Children under age 2 and under 30 lbs. must be in a rear-facing car seat with a five-point harness. Toddlers who are tall or have long legs must remain rear-facing until age 2 even if their knees are bent and their feet are pressed against the back seat of the car. 

Sign Up for E-News

Age 2 to 4

Children under age 4 and 40 lbs. must remain in either a rear-facing or a forward-facing car seat with a five-point harness in the back seat of a vehicle.

Age 4 to 8

Children must remain in a car seat or a booster seat -- in the back seat of a vehicle -- until they are at least 8 years old or 57 inches tall. Once they reach that age or height, they are allowed to use regular adult seat belts.

Age 8 and up

Children can sit in a regular seat using a seat belt. However, the New Jersey law does not specify when children over age 8 can move from the back seat to the front seat. The federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommends children not sit in the front seat until age 13.

Front Seat Guidelines

If a vehicle does not have a back seat, such as a pick-up truck or a sports car, New Jersey law says a child can ride in the front seat in a car seat or a booster seat. The vehicle's passenger-side airbag must be disabled or shut off if a baby or toddler is using a rear-facing car seat strapped into the front seat of the vehicle. The force of air bags can injure small children if they deploy.

Monetary Penalties / Fines

The fines for violating the state's car seat law have risen from previous levels -- $10 to $25 -- to $50 to $75 under the new legislation. The law does not spell out how police would verify the age, height or weight of a child when issuing a ticket.

Exemption Removed

An individual can no longer state that they were following the manufacturer's weight and height recommendations for their car seat.

This information was provided by the Summit Police Department.

Editor's Note:  A previous version of this story said that the car seat rules were effective September 1, 2017.  They were effective September 1, 2015.  We apologize for the error.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

Sign Up for E-News

Stafford/LBI

Upcoming Events

Sat, September 23, 5:30 PM

Ship Bottom Volunteer Fire Company, Ship Bottom

A Plastic Ocean- Screening and Panel Q&A- Hosted ...

Arts & Entertainment Education Green Home & Garden

Carousel_image_f614220f14aee7084e61_martin_truex_foundation_dinner

Wed, September 27, 6:00 PM

Sea Oaks Country Club, Tuckerton

Martin Truex Jr. Foundation's 10th Anniversary ...

Arts & Entertainment Food & Drink Giving Back Sports

Sun, October 8, 10:30 AM

St. Francis Community Center, Long Beach Township

45th Annual Long Beach Island Commemorative 18 ...

Sports

A Plastic Ocean- Screening and Panel Q&A- Hosted by Clean Ocean Action and Lighthouse International Film Festival

September 6, 2017

A Plastic Ocean
Saturday, September 23
5:30-6:30 - Exhibits and Information available
6:30 Film - A Plastic Ocean screening
8:30 p.m. - Q & A Panel Discussion
Ship Bottom Firehouse 2006 Central Avenue, Ship Bottom, NJ 08008
Admission : $5 Free LIFS members, first responders, students, educators

A Plastic Ocean is a feature-length award winning adventure, environmental ...