STAFFORD - The Stafford Township Police Department announced on Monday, January 14 that two patrol officers are recipients of special honors. 

Mike Wade was named Officer of the Year and Ed Kunder received the Rick Drappi Award. These honors are especially significant because they were chosen by the peers.

SThe Rick Drappi Award honors an officer who "displays unselfish dedication, pride, and concern for others," according to Stafford Township Police Department's Facebook page. Drappi was a Stafford police officer who died in an automobile accident in 1978. All personnel vote on his namesake award annually.

The Police Officer of the Year award goes to the officer who "demonstrates a quality work ethic; exhibits a high degree of professionalism, motivation, dedication and integrity and enhances the police image as well as distinguishing themselves within the law enforcement community," the department wrote. worn officers vote on this honor.