ELIZABETH, NJ - Hilltop City students and their counterparts throughout Union County will be tossing their recyclables into new recycling bins this fall, courtesy of a free distribution program administered by Union County and funded by the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection.

In all, 56 schools in nine municipalities received the bins.

The nine municipalities receiving bins for their school districts are Summit, Berkeley Heights, Elizabeth, Hillside, Mountainside, New Providence, Rahway, Roselle Park and Springfield.

Sign Up for E-News

The bin distribution follows a state-funded recycling program administered by Union County earlier this year, which provided grants to improve local recycling facilities.

Further, residents are encouraged to sign up for “Recycle Coach,” a free app that makes it easier to stay up to date about countywide recycling information and municipal recycling schedules.

“When students recycle in our schools, they learn lifelong lessons about environmental stewardship, taking responsibility, and making a positive impact on our planet,” said Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders' Chairman Sergio Granados. “We are very proud to work with DEP and our local school districts to strengthen and enhance recycling programs in our schools.”

For more details on all countywide recycling events, and contact information for municipal recycling coordinators, visit ucnj.org/recycling.