SUMMIT, NJ - Sustainable Jersey, an a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that provides tools, training, and financial incentives to support communities as they pursue sustainability programs, has named the City of Summit a Sustainability Champion in the medium municipal category.

The award recognizes municipalities that have scored the most points in the Sustainable Jersey certification program in three population categories: small (0-4,999), medium (5,000-39,999) and large (40,000+).  Summit joins Cape May City (small category) and Cherry Hill (large category) as municipal winners.  These towns far exceeded the minimum requirement of 150 points for bronze-level certification.
According to Sustainable Jersey, Summit has scored the most points in the Sustainable Jersey certification program in the medium population category with 475 points for this certification cycle. Summit has previously earned this distinction in 2009, 2010 and 2011.
Summit Mayor Ellen Dickson, and mayors from these other Champion municipalitie, will accept their awards at the Sustainable Jersey Annual Luncheon during the New Jersey League of Municipalities’ Conference on November 18.

“It is wonderful to be in a City where we are working together to create a sustainable future., said Dickson.  "Being awarded Sustainable Jersey Champion status for the fourth time, and a Silver Certification for the third time, is recognition of our outstanding work toward this important goal. We are thankful to Sustainable Jersey for its support and recognition, and this award.” 
“The Sustainable Jersey municipal awards recognize the outstanding work being done at the local level,” said Randall Solomon, who co-directs Sustainable Jersey with Donna Drewes.  “We are extremely impressed by the innovative and effective sustainability programs and initiatives of these towns.  They deserve to be commended for their accomplishments and we’re looking forward to sharing their work at the awards luncheon.” 
In addition, the organization announced three special award winners, including Princeton (Leadership Award), Warren Township (Creativity & Innovation Award), and Hightstown and West Windsor (Collaboration Award).