In The Schools

Gray Skies, Bright Future: Summit Middle School Celebrates its 2018 Graduates

Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summitreg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit

SUMMIT, NJ - Shorter, but just as sweet.

Overcast skies and a stray, misty sprinkle resulted in an adjusted, 'kids first' format as Summit's Lawton C. Johnson Summit Middle School held its 2018 commencement ceremonies before a big crowd at Investors Bank Field.

After the Seventh Grade Band greeted the 307 soon-to-be-graduates with the traditional "Pomp and Circumstance," Principal Damen Cooper took to the lectern to inform the audience that -- due to Mother Nature -- the 'adult portion' of the show would be dispatched, and that -- as it should be -- the youth-centric portions of the show would proceed.

Sign Up for E-News

Student Council President Summer Cullen led attendees in The Pledge of Allegiance, which was followed by "The Star Spangled Banner."

Emma Burke -- who paced all students in the school's 'Ryder's Challenge' community service initiative, presented a certificate signifying the Class' collective accomplishment of 7,497 hours to Mayor Nora Radest. 

On a night when the sky played a key scheduling role, student Clara Wasserman appropriately delivered "Passions That Lift You Skyward," an eloquent talk that centering on the lessons and adventures that have accompanied the many highs -- and even a few lows -- of the Class' LCJSMS journey.

The Eighth Grade Chorus performed "A Million Dreams" from "The Greatest Showman" accompanied by Santiago Solis-Negron on piano and Michael Speer on drums, prior to the students then receiving their graduation certificates.


First Honor Roll for Eleven Marking Periods

Victoria Burgdorff
Lara Cota
Margaret DeFabio
Madeline Demm
Ana Estupinan
Emma Gangi
Claire Guo
Giulia Guzzinati
Gillian Heimple
Meredith Jenkins
Natasha Kim
Sophia Lambrianakos
Olivia Lawlor
Jessica Luo
Sophia Malik
Eva Oberhuber
Quinn Phillips
Michael Reddy
Kara Regner
Thea Rind
Michael Speer
Gabrielle Weiner
Sydney Zagorin
Sophia Zecca

Ryder's Challenge Community Service Award

Emma Burke

Catherlyn L. Williams Journey of Excellence Award

Taylor Christ

Principal’s Award for Student Leadership

Summer Cullen

Principal’s Award for Perfect Attendance

Sonia Ingrid Sorvik
Andres Vasquez

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


To Our Current and Future Representatives

July 17, 2018

To Our Current and Future Representatives - Wherever They May Be:

We can never forget we are a nation of immigrants. 

We cannot fall prey to fear, ignorance and anger when we  have been historically driven by freedom and justice. 

We must have the courage and will to fight hate, bigotry and prejudice. 

We must not wake up to what we hoped was a bad dream and ...

Upcoming Events


Sun, July 22, 8:00 AM

Summit Summer Farmers Market, Summit

Summit Farmers Market

Community Calendar Food & Drink Green Health & Wellness


Sun, July 22, 5:00 PM

Central Presbyterian Church, Summit

Summer Outdoor Worship with BBQ

Arts & Entertainment Religions And Spirituality


Mon, July 23, 7:45 AM

17 Kent Place Boulevard, Summit

Monday Morning Yoga

Health & Wellness

Summit Police Blotter

July 9, 2018

6/19 - Peter Ferguson, 31, of New York, New York was arrested on a contempt of court warrant out of Point Pleasant Beach. Mr. Ferguson posted bail and was provided a new court date.

6/22 - At 1552 hours a report was taken for a theft of one thousand (1,000) mops from Overlook Hospital. The reporting individual indicated the theft occurred between 6/10 and 6/21. Taken from a storage area ...

Audio: Point View's Petrides Details Three Things to Watch During Earnings Season on 'Wall St. Unplugged'

July 20, 2018

Point View Wealth Management's Managing Director and Portfolio Manager, John Petrides, on Wall Street Unplugged discussing portfolio positioning during earnings season:

For more than 25 years, Point View Wealth Management, Inc. has been working with families in Summit and beyond, providing ...

Video: Point View's Dietze Says Valuations, Buybacks, Dividend Make Financials Attractive

Point View Wealth Management's Founder, President and Chief Investment Strategist, David Dietze, appeared live on CNBC detailing the outlook for financial stocks and more:

For more than 25 years, Point View Wealth Management, Inc. has been working with families in Summit and beyond, providing customized portfolio management services and comprehensive ...

Picking up the Pieces – The Benefits of Account Consolidation

Over a lifetime of investing we often have numerous accounts located at different financial firms.  Rarely are these accounts managed with a grand plan that takes into account all the individual pieces.   Account proliferation can be detrimental to your investment performance, increase your risk profile, and lighten your pocketbook.  

Account consolidation offers the ...


AtlantiCast: Episode 18

On this week’s AtlantiCast, you’ll find out how accessing care at Atlantic Health System is now easier, more affordable and closer to home than ever, learn which item from the produce aisle could be the newest weapon against cancer, see what Atlantic Health System, the New York Times and Instagram all have in common and much more.



Are You Ready for Your Child to Turn 18?

If your son or daughter is turning 18, here are a few things you need to know:

If you have an UGMA/UTMA savings account for your child, did you know those assets are his/her legal property and once that instrument matures (most often 21 years old or 18, if you designated that at time of account creation), those assets are at your child’s disposal with no restrictions or ...

Would Shedding

How much wood wouldn’t a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck woodn’t?


Enough already.  


I get it.  It is an easy mistake to make, misusing would and wouldn’t.  It happens to me all the time.


“Honey, when I said I didn’t see any reason why I would go to the ballet, I meant to say I couldn’t see ...