In The Schools

Hilltoppers Earn More Than Forty Individual Honors as Summit H.S. Speech and Debate Team Grabs Another Sweepstakes Win

Forty-one Hilltoppers earned individual awards and the Summit High School Speech and Debate Team brought the Tennent Tourney Title back across state lines.

WARMINSTER, PA -- Another weekend, another big piece of hardware.

The Summit High School Speech and Debate Team took home its second Sweepstakes Award in as many weeks, winning by a massive margin at William Tennent High School Invitational.

Hilltopper team members claimed 41 individual awards, and the program received a huge performance by its Junior Varsity members, who placed in every JV event.

Sign Up for E-News

Highlights included a 1-2-3 finish by the JV in Original Oratory, a top-four spot sweep by the Varsity in Program Oral Interpretation, and a sublime 1-2-3-4-5-6 finish in Varsity Oral Interpretation.

Individual honors included:

Junior Varsity Dramatic Performance

Iain Alvidrez - First Place
Caroline Abut - Third Place
Beatrice Halper - Fourth Place
Tim Erday - Fifth Place
Christina Wilson - Sixth Place

Junior Varsity Duo Interpretation

Kerry Kovar & Annie Milsten - First Place
Katie Evenson & Christina Wilson - Second Place

Junior Varsity Original Oratory

Ryan Colon - First Place
Kendra Olson - Second Place
Ella McCormick - Third Place

Junior Varsity Poetry

Maddie Lumelleau - Third Place
Elizabeth Maloney - Fifth Place

Junior Varsity Prose

Maddie Lumelleau - Third Place
Samantha Sirabian - Sixth Place

Junior Varsity Public Forum Debate

Abby Brandt & Nick Clements - Second Place
Eray Sabuncu & Alex Supran - Semifinalists

Program Oral Interpretation

Kim Lee - First Place
Gerard Apruzzesse - Second Place
Stefania Valera - Third Place
Kerry Kovar - Fourth Place

Varsity Congressional Debate

Reid Phillips - Third Place
Ben Schachter - Fourth Place

Varsity Dramatic Interpretation

Kim Lee - First Place
Hope Kovera - Second Place
Harry Saroff - Third Place

Varsity Duo Interpretation

Hope Kovera & Grace Milsten - First Place
Darby Ryden & Mitchell Sink; Annika Carlson & Alexa Carlson - Second Place (tie)

Varsity Humorous Interpretation

Annika Carlson - First Place
Cate Esposito - Second Place
JJ Stewart - Third Place
Harry Saroff - Sixth Place

Varsity Oral Interpretation

Annie Milsten - First Place
Alexa Carlson - Second Place
Greta Morgan - Third Place
Stefania Valera - Fourth Place
Juilet Huneke - Fifth Place
Sarah Competiello - Sixth Place

Varsity Original Oratory

Matt Colon - First Place
JJ Stewart - Sixth Place

Varsity Public Forum Debate

Laura Baldacchino & Rachel Blume - Semifinalists

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


To Our Current and Future Representatives

July 17, 2018

To Our Current and Future Representatives - Wherever They May Be:

We can never forget we are a nation of immigrants. 

We cannot fall prey to fear, ignorance and anger when we  have been historically driven by freedom and justice. 

We must have the courage and will to fight hate, bigotry and prejudice. 

We must not wake up to what we hoped was a bad dream and ...

Upcoming Events


Sun, July 22, 8:00 AM

Summit Summer Farmers Market, Summit

Summit Farmers Market

Community Calendar Food & Drink Green Health & Wellness


Sun, July 22, 5:00 PM

Central Presbyterian Church, Summit

Summer Outdoor Worship with BBQ

Arts & Entertainment Religions And Spirituality


Mon, July 23, 7:45 AM

17 Kent Place Boulevard, Summit

Monday Morning Yoga

Health & Wellness

Summit Police Blotter

July 9, 2018

6/19 - Peter Ferguson, 31, of New York, New York was arrested on a contempt of court warrant out of Point Pleasant Beach. Mr. Ferguson posted bail and was provided a new court date.

6/22 - At 1552 hours a report was taken for a theft of one thousand (1,000) mops from Overlook Hospital. The reporting individual indicated the theft occurred between 6/10 and 6/21. Taken from a storage area ...

Audio: Point View's Petrides Details Three Things to Watch During Earnings Season on 'Wall St. Unplugged'

July 20, 2018

Point View Wealth Management's Managing Director and Portfolio Manager, John Petrides, on Wall Street Unplugged discussing portfolio positioning during earnings season:

For more than 25 years, Point View Wealth Management, Inc. has been working with families in Summit and beyond, providing ...

Video: Point View's Dietze Says Valuations, Buybacks, Dividend Make Financials Attractive

Point View Wealth Management's Founder, President and Chief Investment Strategist, David Dietze, appeared live on CNBC detailing the outlook for financial stocks and more:

For more than 25 years, Point View Wealth Management, Inc. has been working with families in Summit and beyond, providing customized portfolio management services and comprehensive ...

Picking up the Pieces – The Benefits of Account Consolidation

Over a lifetime of investing we often have numerous accounts located at different financial firms.  Rarely are these accounts managed with a grand plan that takes into account all the individual pieces.   Account proliferation can be detrimental to your investment performance, increase your risk profile, and lighten your pocketbook.  

Account consolidation offers the ...


AtlantiCast: Episode 18

On this week’s AtlantiCast, you’ll find out how accessing care at Atlantic Health System is now easier, more affordable and closer to home than ever, learn which item from the produce aisle could be the newest weapon against cancer, see what Atlantic Health System, the New York Times and Instagram all have in common and much more.



Are You Ready for Your Child to Turn 18?

If your son or daughter is turning 18, here are a few things you need to know:

If you have an UGMA/UTMA savings account for your child, did you know those assets are his/her legal property and once that instrument matures (most often 21 years old or 18, if you designated that at time of account creation), those assets are at your child’s disposal with no restrictions or ...

Would Shedding

How much wood wouldn’t a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck woodn’t?


Enough already.  


I get it.  It is an easy mistake to make, misusing would and wouldn’t.  It happens to me all the time.


“Honey, when I said I didn’t see any reason why I would go to the ballet, I meant to say I couldn’t see ...