Newest Hilltoppers Celebrated at Summit Middle School Graduation

Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit
Credits: Greg Elliott / TAPinto Summit

SUMMIT, NJ - Congratulations, Lawton C. Johnson Summit Middle School (LCJSMS)) Class of 2017. Welcome, Summit High School Class of 2021.

In the early evening hours of the summer solstice, the longest day of the year, the gone-in-the-blink-of-an-eye days of being a middle schooler reached a conclusion for eighth grade students in graduation ceremonies held on the LCJSMS athletic field.

While one chapter of the students' book of life came to a close, another one is about to begin as they get set to matriculate to the Kent Place Boulevard campus.

Sign Up for E-News

After greetings and the introduction of the Pledge of Allegiance by LCJSMS Student Council President Caroline Moy, Student Council Vice President Hannah McGrath introduced Summit Superintendent of Public Schools June Chang who offered congratulatory remarks to the about-to-be graduates and their families in attendance.

Appropriately, LCJSMS student Mechado Stewartson then took to the podium to present the 'Ryder's Challenge' Community Service Certificate to Summit Mayor Nora Radest, reflecting the 7,038.5 hours of volunteer good works performed by the eighth grade class. Stewartson earned the honor the ceremonial task as he was the school leader in community service hours performed.

Reflecting a theme of how quickly their three years at the Morris Avenue campus passed, student Anthony Yu delivered a speech entitled 'Blink of an Eye' in which he talked about the wonderment of arriving at LCJSMS as the then-sixth graders and discovering "just how much bigger it was than our elementary schools" and evolving to life as an eighth grader where their confidence to achieve their goals was has grown exponentially.

After a musical performance by the Eighth Grade Graduation Chorus -- under the direction of Daniel King, accompanied by Robert John Burke on piano and Xander Haselmann on Drums and featuring soloists Juliette Gringeri and Annabelle Avelino -- LCJSMS Principal Damen Cooper told the graduates that "if your journey was a 400-meter race, you are just getting out of the blocks," and stressed that kindness, hard work, the ability to overcome setbacks and adversity, and perseverance will serve them well as they continue their academic and personal sojourn.

Award Recipients

High Honor Roll for Eleven Marking Periods

Isabel Claus
Jessica Friedman
Charlotte Girouard
Emily Hong
Alexander Jones
Kiran McCormick
Jack McGarity
Caroline Moy
Daniel Naiman
Jolan Schluter
Riley Sidebottom
Meghan Tarashuk
Katya Wardle
Hallie Williams

Ryder's Challenge Community Service Award

Mechado Stewartson

Catherlyn L. Williams Journey of Excellence Award

Anna Gilbert

Principal’s Award for Student Leadership

Caroline Moy

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events


Sun, June 24, 8:00 AM

Summit Summer Farmers Market, Summit

Summit Farmers Market

Community Calendar Food & Drink Green Health & Wellness


Sun, June 24, 11:00 AM


MakerFest 2018

Summit Police Blotter

June 19, 2018

5/29 - Mark L. Howard, 21, of Nutley was arrested and charged with burglary, theft by unlawful taking and credit card fraud. Mr. Howard was processed and released with a pending court date.

5/29 - At 1143 hours a report was taken for a theft of stolen license plate from a River Road business. The victim reported the last time the license plate was seen on the property was within the ...

Pet Supply Drive at the Summit YMCA Through June 30 Benefits St. Huberts

June 19, 2018

Please help St. Hubert's Animal Welfare Center by donating canned/dry food and edible treats for dogs, puppies, cats and kittens at the Summit YMCA Lobby through June 30. For more information about our Pet Supply Drive, please contact : Lisa Meyers 908-273-3330 ext.1186 or Patty Facchinei 908-273-3330 ...

Bridges Outreach: Miracles in Manhattan

Bridges Outreach: Miracles in Manhattan (and elsewhere)

My good friend Joan Olszewski reached out to me the other day to tell me the Friday, June 8, Bridges Outreach run to Manhattan needed volunteers, “Let’s go,” she said.  The lunches were provided by Pimco, a dedicated corporate sponsor of Bridges, so all we needed were some bodies and the love necessary to offer food ...

Maximizing Your Portfolio’s Returns -- Beware the Taxman

The old adage in the investment world is that it is not what you make, but what you keep that counts.  Investors often overlook the ultimate deflator of portfolio returns – the taxman. An astute global asset allocation should be the number one priority for investors.  However, there are preferred ways to distribute this asset allocation over the spectrum of taxable and ...


AtlantiCast: Episode 16

Summer is in the air, and the latest episode of AtlantiCast is ready to help you enjoy some fun outdoors while staying safe! This week’s episode opens with tips for sunscreen usage from Atlantic Health System’s Chief Medical and Academic Officer, Dr. Jan Schwarz-Miller. You’ll also learn about how Atlantic Health System is advancing the future of health care through ...

Video: In The Zone with Christa Anderson

A must watch for anyone considering renovations, here is a recent interview that I conducted -- on my HomeTowne TV Show called “Are You Ready for Life?” -- with Christa Anderson, City of Summit Zoning Officer, to discuss the nuances within the variance process.

I asked Christa to shed some insight into the approval process, explain why it’s necessary, and ...

Hello, Neighbors

Hi, Summit families!

My name is Betsy Stoeber and I’ve been the owner and director at the specialized learning center Brain Balance of Summit since 2011. I first encountered Brain Balance the year before we opened as a parent. My own son participated in our innovative program at the center in Norwalk, CT, to address a number of learning challenges.

Traveling there three times per week ...