Press Releases

Newly Tenured at Summit Schools

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Nathan Parker, far left, joins the staff members who were honored at the meeting for their recent receipt of tenure. From left, seated, Anne Weisgerber, Vanessa Monell, Cristina Colineri, Jennifer Dickson, Rachel Gordon, Carolyn Kiley, Beatriz Mendez, Janet Warbeck, Danielle Dombrowski, Lauren DiMisa, Christine Stelmach, Matthew Santos, Eleanor Wang, and Lori Alfone; standing, Dr. Parker, Elizabeth Essig, Meghan Garibaldi, Cristina Martinez, Juana Rodriguez, Jennifer Lowe, Lauren Winner, Dana DiPaola, Kevin Kostibos, Jonathan Slevens, William Hannis, Peter Koppenaal, Louis J. Pepe, Felix Gil, Matthew Block, Daniel Garcia, Michael Gleason, Matthew Stanbro, Julie Glazer, Karen Harrison, Kristy Lauricella, Douglas Orr, and Megan Hartley. (Not all of the newly tenured staff are pictured.)

The Summit Board of Education, at its September 15 meeting held at Summit High School, honored staff members who have recently received tenure or who are beginning their first fully tenured year in the Summit Schools.

Speaking on behalf of the entire board, board member Celia Colbert congratulated the staff being recognized.

"Staffing decisions are among the more significant decisions made in our school district," said Ms. Cole. "We are fortunate - and have worked hard - to develop a thorough, thoughtful curriculum, enriching programs, and beautifulf acilities. But the success of our schools lies primarily in the ability of our faculty to effectively deliver this excellently prepared educational plan to the students. The people we are honoring tonight have successfully come through a three-year process of scrutiny and evaluations by demonstrating the skill, commitment, and professionalism that makes our staff second to none."

Sign Up for E-News

The newly tenured staff members are:

Summit High School – science teachers Lauren DiMisa, Peter Koppenaal, and Christine Stelmach; math teacher Danielle Dombrowski; English teachers Kristy Lauricella and Anne Weisgerber, Spanish teacher Vanessa Monell; and special education teacher Deborah Penner; Lawton C. Johnson

Summit Middle School – art teacher Juana Rodriguez, librarian Megan Hartley, social studies teacher Kevin Kostibos, and guidance counselor Cristina Martinez

Brayton School – Elizabeth Essig, Meghan Garibaldi, Michael Gleason, and Matthew Stanbro; Jefferson School – William Hannis, Beatriz Mendez, Matthew Santos, and Janet Warbeck

Lincoln-Hubbard School – Dana DiPaola, Karen Harrison, and Lauren Winner; Franklin School – Lori Alfone, Cristina Colineri, Jennifer Dickson, Eleanor Wang, and Jonathan Slevens

Washington School – Daniel Garcia and Jennifer Lowe

Jefferson Primary Center - Ashley Winchester-Karpinski

Wilson Primary Center – Rachel Gordon and Carolyn Kiley

Secretaries - Jeannine Dotten from the superintendent’s office, Patricia Lagua of the business office, and Patricia Olsen, secretary at the Brayton School library

Administrators - Matthew Block, principal of Lawton C. Johnson Summit Middle School; Felix Gil, principal of the Primary Centers at Jefferson and Wilson; Assistant Superintendent Julie Glazer; Technology Administrator Douglas Orr; and Business Administrator Louis J. Pepe

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events


Fri, May 25, 8:00 PM

17 Kent Place Boulevard, Summit

Open Mic Night

Arts & Entertainment


Sun, May 27, 8:00 AM

Summit Summer Farmers Market, Summit

Summit Farmers Market

Community Calendar Food & Drink Green Health & Wellness


Thu, May 31, 11:30 AM

Canoe Brook Country Club, Summit

Fortnightly Club Scholarship Luncheon

Food & Drink Giving Back

Summit Police Blotter

May 17, 2018

4/24 - At 0728 hours a report was taken for a theft of two (2) sandwiches from a business on Morris Avenue. The manager reported that at approximately 0330 hours a male entered the business and removed two sandwiches from a refrigerated case. After doing so, he exited the store without paying for them. The male suspect was described as Hispanic, approximately 6’0”wearing a blue/gray ...

Video: Point View's Petrides Looks at Trade Truce Sector Beneficiaries, Opportunities

May 24, 2018

Point View Wealth Management's Managing Director and Portfolio Manager, John Petrides, on CNBC's Nightly Business Report (interview starts at 5:05 mark) discussing stocks to buy based on easing trade tensions with China.

For more than 25 years, Point View Wealth Management, Inc. has been working with families in Summit and beyond, ...

Video: Point View's Dietze Reviews Investment Strategies as Trade Tensions with China Calm

Point View Wealth Management's Founder, President and Chief Investment Strategist, David Dietze, live on FOX Business on investment strategies in the wake of the thawing of Chinese trade tensions.

For more than 25 years, Point View Wealth Management, Inc. has been working with families in Summit and beyond, providing customized portfolio ...

Stocks Can Rise in a Rising Interest Rate Environment

Investors remain concerned about the potential impact of higher interest rates on stocks. In their most recently released minutes, the Federal Reserve Open Markets Committee indicated the US economy is on solid footing and the economic conditions warrant continued gradual increasing of interest rates. This set off a sale in the stock and bond markets as investors began pricing in a fourth ...


AtlantiCast: Episode 15

On this week’s AtlantiCast, learn some important tips for controlling and avoiding diabetes from an Atlantic Health System expert, see how Atlantic Health is advancing cutting-edge research, hear what’s being done to keep health care environmentally friendly and much more!


SURVIVING A STROKE: Quick Medical Response Gives Mom Her Life Back

Carotid artery dissection. It’s one of the most common causes of stroke in younger adults.

And while you might not associate the word “stroke” with younger patients, the condition – if not treated immediately – could lead to paralysis and even death.

Lindsey Singh can attest to the importance of immediacy. The 31-year-old mother of two from Flanders experienced ...

A Royal Pain

I went to a big wedding over the weekend.  It was in England.

I like to think I was invited, but according to the Royal Guards and the Thames Valley Police I was not.  But more about that later.

You see, not too long ago I received an evite addressed to me from H&  Curiously, it was in my spam folder with a warning message. For an evite it was pretty ...