SUMMIT, NJ - Verve, the Summit High School’s student-run newspaper and several members of its staff have been honored with a series of press association awards.

The publication itself, which recently released its final issue of the 2016-17 school year, was recognized by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) in September, and awarded with a silver medal for the 2015-16 school year.

Irina Itriyeva, faculty adviser for Verve, said, “I am proud of the newspaper being a student-led effort, and as a result we take pride in our work, and we are very excited to receive this award.”

Sign Up for E-News

This past February, the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) also presented Verve with the All-American award and four marks of distinction for high school publications- the highest recognition.

In addition, Verve was one of 21 medium-sized high school newspapers from around the country to win first place in the American Scholastic Press Association (ASPA) contest this April.

Individual awards were also presented by the Garden State Scholastic Press Association (GSSPA) in October of 2016 to Globe Editor Will Freeman, Opine Editor Sabrina Fleischman, and Art Editor Maya Shapiro. Fleischman received First Place in Layout & Design in Division B, Shapiro received First Place in Editorial Cartooning in Division B, and Freeman received an honorable mention in sports writing.

Freeman’s article was a feature on the memorial services and fundraising efforts following the tragic death of Warren Hills High School football player Evan Murray during a game against Summit.

“I’m very thankful for this award, but regretful that my article came about because of such a tragedy,” said Freeman. “I’m also pleased that I was able to get my message across about the death of Evan Murray, and show the great response that the surrounding community had.”

Besides awarding medals, the four associations also provided critiques to the Verve. "We really appreciate the feedback from these press associations because they help us improve and grow as a paper,” said seniors Rachel Isralowitz and Caroline Phillips.

Isralowitz and Phillips were the two Co-Editors-In-Chief for the 2016-17 school year. Page editors for the year included: Ellie Rogoff and Delaney O’Dowd / Metro News editors, Christina Guo and Freeman/  Globe editors, Angharad Healey and Fleischman / Opine editors, Gwyn Tulsky and Claire Goudreau / Screen and Sound editors, Olivia Elko and Liam Galligan / Buzz editors, Anna DiSibio and Patrick Smolyn / Turf editors, Kate McKee, Natalie Herr and Emma Cahillane / Special Page editors.

This year’s Production Editor was Emma Rosenzweig, Special Projects Editors are Jordan Goldberg, Greg Hampson and Davis Hausman, Art Editors are Brendan McGinn, Sam O’Sullivan and Shapiro, and Business Managers are Spencer Frey and Matt Mormile.

The staff writers for the 2016-17 school year were Lucy Adams, Ellie Anderson, Sydney Benevento, Kelly Boyd, Hannah Burke, Sam Cahill, Jane DiSibio, Jake Froschauer, Stephanie Giusto, Nick Hausman, Danny Isralowitz, Lily Jay, Brianna Johnston, Brian Kaelin, Mimi Laws, Sophie Li, Katie MacPherson, Blakely McCann, Finbar McCormick, Matt Murdock, David Naiman, Sophie Piron, Skyler Schluter, Morgen Shung, Malcolm Sidebottom and Marcus Stevenson.

Verve’s entire staff produces nine articles year-round, with the staff writers receiving additional editing training on Adobe InDesign. They also attend the prestigious Columbia Scholastic Press Association Conference in New York every October.

Verve distributes their 12-page tabloid size paper monthly, from October to June, and subscription forms can be obtained by emailing Itriyeva via