In The Schools

Summit H.S. Speech & Debate Team Pulls Off Historic 'Double' at Randolph Tourney; First Ever Dual-Sweeps Win for Hilltopper Contingent

Happy Hilltoppers: The Summit Speech and Debate team gathers after achieving their first-ever "double" in Randolph.
SUMMIT, NJ - The juggernaut Summit High School Speech and Debate Team not only is returning to the Hilltop City with another sweepstakes win, they are bringing back a pair of overall crowns for the first time in program history.
Competing at the Randolph High School Tournament, Coach Anne Poyner and her team of Hilltoppers ran away with First Place Sweepstakes title by more than 90 points over the second place team, and topped that achievement by capturing both the Speech and Debate category sweeps titles.
The 37 Summit finalists included:

Sign Up for E-News

Varsity Public Forum Debate

Alina Patrick & Rachel Emily Schwartz - First Place
Jeff Berkowitz & Nick Ritter - Third Place
Matt Supran & Christina Guo - Fifth Place
Caroline Wohl & Ethan Mandelbaum - Sixth Place

JV Public Forum Debate

Alisha Kewalramani & Rachel Schwartz - First Place
Adam Dwyer & Vincent Kinget - Second Place
Ben Schachter & Kerri Palphreyman - Fifth Place
Tim Ritter & Kelsey Kennedy - Sixth Place

Congressional Debate

Thomas Inggs - Second Place
Sophie Reitz-Bouren - Third Place
Miles Bergman - Fifth Place
Claire Goudreau - Seventh Place

Dramatic Interpretation

Hope Kovera - First Place
Sean McManus - Second Place
Matt Wilson - Fifth Place

Duo Interpretation

Anne Borzner & Matt Wilson - First Place
Alexa Carlson & Annika Carlson - Second Place
Grace Milsten & Hope Kovera - Third Place
Jess Jilla & Nick Della Sala - Fourth Place

Humorous Interpretation

Erin Manion - Fourth Place
Cate Esposito - Fifth Place
Harry Saroff - Sixth Place
JJ Stewart - Seventh Place

Impromptu Speaking

Surina Gupta - First Place
Katherin Recio - Third Place

Improvisational Acting

Bella Anidjar - First Place
Annika Carlson - Third Place
Avery Fessler - Fourth Place
Sean Mcmanus - Fifth Place
Cate Esposito - Sixth Place

Original Oratory

Matt Colon - Second Place
Katherin Recio - Fourth Place
Surina Gupta - Fifth Place

Poetry Interpretation

Grace Milsten - Second Place
Darby Ryden - Third Place
Reid Phillips - Fourth Place
Juliet Huneke - Sixth Place

Novice Prose Interpretation

Greta Morgan - First Place
Kyra Rosenzweig - Second Place
Carmel Barsh - Sixth Place

Program Oral Interpretation

Kim Lee - First Place
Stefania Valera - Second Place
Gerard Apruzzese - Fourth Place

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


To Our Current and Future Representatives

July 17, 2018

To Our Current and Future Representatives - Wherever They May Be:

We can never forget we are a nation of immigrants. 

We cannot fall prey to fear, ignorance and anger when we  have been historically driven by freedom and justice. 

We must have the courage and will to fight hate, bigotry and prejudice. 

We must not wake up to what we hoped was a bad dream and ...

Summit Police Blotter

July 9, 2018

6/19 - Peter Ferguson, 31, of New York, New York was arrested on a contempt of court warrant out of Point Pleasant Beach. Mr. Ferguson posted bail and was provided a new court date.

6/22 - At 1552 hours a report was taken for a theft of one thousand (1,000) mops from Overlook Hospital. The reporting individual indicated the theft occurred between 6/10 and 6/21. Taken from a storage area ...

Challenge Your Children with the Summit YMCA's Fun-Size Development Program!

July 16, 2018

“The future belongs to those who prepare for it today” - Malcolm X

The Summit Area YMCA recognizes the potential in every child. We strive to provide the environment and resources for all youth to learn, grow, and thrive. With nurturing and supportive staff, enriching curriculum and programs, and a strong built-in value system, children are able to not only reach ...

Video: Point View's Petrides Talks Netflix's Cash Burn as Company Reports Earnings

Point View Wealth Management's Managing Director and Portfolio Manager, John Petrides, live on discussing Netflix's earnings report and why the streaming service should dilute shareholders to plug its cash burn.

​​​​​​For more than 25 years, Point View Wealth Management, Inc. has been ...

Fear of Rising Rates? Remember The Reason You Own Bonds

If the current interest environment has you concerned about your bond portfolio, remember why you are investing in bonds.  The role bonds, or fixed income, play in a portfolio is not solely based on performance.  Bonds are used to offer stability, particularly when stock market volatility is rising. Rate hikes can dampen bond performance, but keep perspective on how rising rates impact ...


AtlantiCast: Episode 18

On this week’s AtlantiCast, you’ll find out how accessing care at Atlantic Health System is now easier, more affordable and closer to home than ever, learn which item from the produce aisle could be the newest weapon against cancer, see what Atlantic Health System, the New York Times and Instagram all have in common and much more.



Are You Ready for Your Child to Turn 18?

If your son or daughter is turning 18, here are a few things you need to know:

If you have an UGMA/UTMA savings account for your child, did you know those assets are his/her legal property and once that instrument matures (most often 21 years old or 18, if you designated that at time of account creation), those assets are at your child’s disposal with no restrictions or ...

Extra Time

It was close to 70 minutes into the match and I had to go to the bathroom.  Badly.

As fans watching the World Cup know too well, bathroom breaks are a serious dilemma, especially for those who don’t have a TV in the loo.  This biological necessity is exasperated by beer, which during World Cup matches also fuels a strong propensity to throw chairs and instigate riots.