In The Schools

Summit H.S. Speech and Debate Team Storms Phillipsburg, Brings Home Sweepstakes Title


PHILLIPSBURG, NJ - In 1851, John Babsone Lane Soule told young folks to "Go West...," a statement that was later immortalized by Horace Greeley and woven into the concept of Manifest Destiny.

The Summit High School Speech and Debate Team, which knows a few things about manifesting their talents when traveling, headed west on I-78 and, when they returned, brought back with them yet another piece of silverware for the Kent Place Boulevard campus' trophy case.

The Hilltoppers claimed the First Place Sweepstakes crown at the Phillipsburg High School Tournament. producing 32 finalists and eight first-place wins. The Summit novice team members delivered a mighty showing, with several earning finalist spots in Varsity events, which will qualify those 07901ers -- and all Summit finalists -- for the State Championship in March of 2018.

Sign Up for E-News

Phillipsburg Tournament finalists included:

Varsity Public Forum Debate

James Cho and Abby Brandt - First Place

JV Public Forum Debate

Eray Sabuncu and Alex Supran - Sixth Place


Charlotte Girouard - Fifth Place

Novice Poetry

Gracie Beardsley - First Place

Novice Prose

Gracie Beardsley - First Place

Diana Drohan - Fourth Place

Annaliese Dow - Fifth Place

Varsity Congress

Claire Goudreau - Finalist

Christina Guo - Finalist

Ben Schachter - Finalist

Novice Student Congress

Lauren Landis - Fifth Place

Dramatic Interpretation

Harry Saroff - First Place

Jeremy Shultz - Third Place

Jayson Cahillane - Fifth Place

Greta Morgan - Sixth Place

Lara Blomfield - Top Non-Advancing Novice

Humorous Interpretation

Harry Saroff - First Place

JJ Stewart - Fifth Place

Tim Erday - Sixth Place

Caroline Collins and Noah Jay - Joint Top Non-Advancing Novices

Impromtu Speaking

Ryan Colon - Third Place

Duo Interpretation

Robbie Hoecker and David Staub - Second Place

Josh Daley and Juliette Gringeri - Sixth Place

Improvisational Acting

Michael Polivko - Second Place

Iain Alvidrez - Third Place

Beatrice Halper - Fourth Place

Informative Speaking

Ethan Zucker - Second Place

Oral Interpretation

Annie Milsten - First Place

Elizabeth Maloney - Second Place

Original Oratory

Ryan Colon - First Place

Rena Gabber - Top Non-Advancing Novice

Program Oral Interpretation

Annie Milsten - First Place

Sam Sirabian - Third Place

Juliet Huneke - Fourth Place

Maddie Lumelleau - Fifth Place

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events


Sun, February 25, 9:30 AM

Calvary Church, Summit

Tricia Walker-Three Chords and the Truth: A ...

Arts & Entertainment


Sun, February 25, 10:00 AM

Camp Riverbend, Warren

Camp Riverbend Open House


Sun, February 25, 11:00 AM

The Connection, Summit

Rockette Style Workshop Series

Arts & Entertainment

Summit Fire Department Blotter

01/01/2018 9:26 am     FD dispatched to a motor vehicle accident, car vs. pole in front of 196 GLENSIDE AVENUE.  On arrival occupant was out of the vehicle.  Summit EMS assumed patient contact. FD made notification to the power company to make repairs.  Summit PD remained on scene for traffic control and road closure until repairs were made.

01/02/2018 7:36 pm ...

Summit Police Blotter

February 12, 2018

2/1 - At 0955 hours a report was taken for a theft of a street sign. The unlawful incident occurred between an unknown time frame on Pine Grove Avenue. Value of the street sign was not immediately available at the time of the report.

2/5 - Roberto C. Noel-Berman, 23, of Summit was arrested and charged with possession of CDS. Mr. Noel-Berman was released with a pending court date.

2/5 - ...

Lightbridge Academy in Millburn Hiring Assistant and Lead Teachers

February 23, 2018

If you are passionate about educating and nurturing young minds, you may fit right in with our family! Lightbridge Academy is currently hiring Assistant and Lead Teachers to join our team and grow with us!

If you would like to learn more about the positions offered, you can reach us at 973-218-1800.

Video: Point View's Petrides Says Market Healthy, Strong Despite Sell-Offs

Point View Wealth Management's Managing Director and Portfolio Manager, John Petrides, live on FOX Business News discussing the market sell-off post the release of the Fed Minutes:

For nearly 25 years, Point View Wealth Management, Inc. has been working with families in Summit and beyond, providing customized portfolio management services and ...

Is FAANG Long in the Tooth?

Investors love to rally around a stock story. Today it’s all about the FAANG stocks. Facebook (FB), Amazon (AMZN), Apple (AAPL), Netflix (NFLX) and Google (GOOG) are a major reason why the S&P 500 rallied so much in 2017. Mr. Market is convinced the FAANGs are impervious to a sell-off. “Its different this time” is ringing loud and clear, but will the outcome really be that ...


AtlantiCast: Episode 12

On this week’s episode of AtlantiCast, decade of excellence makes headlines, as Atlantic Health’s place on Fortune Magazine’s 100 Best Companies to Work For List leads off the newest episode of AtlantiCast. Also on this week’s show, check out the newest “hybrid” operating room at Morristown Medical Center and find out how Atlantic Health is helping local ...

Let the Games Begin

I am truly awed by the Olympics.  Watching these superb young athletes on TV inspires me to renew my membership to the gym and pursue my lifelong dream of taking home the gold.  


The problem is that in my deluded head, I can see actually see myself standing atop the podium.  I am wrapped in a puffy designer ski coat with a huge piece of bling slung around my neck ...

Movies! Movies! Movies! - Three Ways to Enjoy Movies

Most people who use the Summit Free Public Library are familiar with our video collection: thousands of DVDs and nearly 800 BluRays -- and growing!

In addition to recent box-office hits and Hollywood classics, we have foreign films, anime, and musical performances from Aida to ZZ Top. Binge-watch a must-see TV series, discover a new one, or introduce your kids to your childhood ...