Summit High School Athletic Hall of Fame Seeks Nominations for Second Class of Inductees


SUMMIT, NJ - The Summit High School Athletic Hall of Fame, created to honor those who propelled Summit High School’s athletic programs to success over the years, is accepting nominations of former Hilltopper athletes, coaches, and teams for its second class of inductees.

Members of 'Hilltopper Nation', community members, coaches, peers, and others can submit nominations by visiting This 2017 class of inductees will be celebrated on October 5 during a banquet held at The Grand Summit Hotel.

The inaugural class was enshrined in October of 2014, and included.

Sign Up for E-News


Donald Geddis
Gil Owren


Howie Anderson
Joann LaVorgna


1963 Football Team
1986 Girls’ Lacrosse Team

Individual Athletes

Mike Papio - 1961 - Football, Baseball
John Mallory - 1964 - Football, Basketball, Track
Tom Odell - 1971 - Football, Track
Willie Wilson - 1974 - Football, Basketball, Baseball
Chuck Wiebe - 1975 - Football, Lacrosse
Tim Odell - 1977 - Football, Basketball
Theresa Gschwind McCullough - 1982 - Cross Country, Indoor Track, Track
Enzo Catullo - 1985 - Football, Wrestling
Tracey Burke - 1985 - Field Hockey, Basketball, Softball
Lindsay Burns - 1995 - Soccer, Basketball, Lacrosse

Since its inception, the Summit High School Athletic Hall of Fame has provided more than $20,000 in scholarships to deserving student-athletes, thanks to the generosity of local businesses. For more information on how to support this effort, visit

"The Summit Athletic Hall of Fame is great way to support the Summit community and recognize those who have given so much to the SHS Athletic program over the years," said Summit High School Principal Stacy Grimaldi.  “It furthers our mission of honoring the past and creating the future.”

TAP Into Another Town's News:

Sign Up for E-News


Upcoming Events


Sun, June 24, 8:00 AM

Summit Summer Farmers Market, Summit

Summit Farmers Market

Community Calendar Food & Drink Green Health & Wellness


Sun, June 24, 11:00 AM


MakerFest 2018

Summit Police Blotter

June 19, 2018

5/29 - Mark L. Howard, 21, of Nutley was arrested and charged with burglary, theft by unlawful taking and credit card fraud. Mr. Howard was processed and released with a pending court date.

5/29 - At 1143 hours a report was taken for a theft of stolen license plate from a River Road business. The victim reported the last time the license plate was seen on the property was within the ...

Video: Point View's Petrides Talks U.S.-China Tariff Tussle's Market Impact

June 19, 2018

Point View Wealth Management's Managing Director and Portfolio Manager, John Petrides, live on discussing the market impact resulting from tariffs between the United States and China:

​​​​​For more than 25 years, Point View Wealth Management, Inc. has been working with families in Summit and beyond, providing customized portfolio ...

Pet Supply Drive at the Summit YMCA Through June 30 Benefits St. Huberts

Please help St. Hubert's Animal Welfare Center by donating canned/dry food and edible treats for dogs, puppies, cats and kittens at the Summit YMCA Lobby through June 30. For more information about our Pet Supply Drive, please contact : Lisa Meyers 908-273-3330 ext.1186 or Patty Facchinei 908-273-3330 ...

Maximizing Your Portfolio’s Returns -- Beware the Taxman

The old adage in the investment world is that it is not what you make, but what you keep that counts.  Investors often overlook the ultimate deflator of portfolio returns – the taxman. An astute global asset allocation should be the number one priority for investors.  However, there are preferred ways to distribute this asset allocation over the spectrum of taxable and ...


AtlantiCast: Episode 16

Summer is in the air, and the latest episode of AtlantiCast is ready to help you enjoy some fun outdoors while staying safe! This week’s episode opens with tips for sunscreen usage from Atlantic Health System’s Chief Medical and Academic Officer, Dr. Jan Schwarz-Miller. You’ll also learn about how Atlantic Health System is advancing the future of health care through ...

Video: In The Zone with Christa Anderson

A must watch for anyone considering renovations, here is a recent interview that I conducted -- on my HomeTowne TV Show called “Are You Ready for Life?” -- with Christa Anderson, City of Summit Zoning Officer, to discuss the nuances within the variance process.

I asked Christa to shed some insight into the approval process, explain why it’s necessary, and ...

Hello, Neighbors

Hi, Summit families!

My name is Betsy Stoeber and I’ve been the owner and director at the specialized learning center Brain Balance of Summit since 2011. I first encountered Brain Balance the year before we opened as a parent. My own son participated in our innovative program at the center in Norwalk, CT, to address a number of learning challenges.

Traveling there three times per week ...