SUMMIT, NJ - Thirty-nine Summit High School students have been recognized -- five Semifinalists, 32 Commended Students, and four selected for the National Hispanic Recognition Program -- have been recognized by the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program:

James Cho
Alyssa Gao
Rachel Kantor
Emily Pommier
Matthew Supran

Sign Up for E-News

Commended Students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program:

Megan Abate
John Alvarez
Sydney Benevento
Katherine Buchan
Emma Cohron
Molly Driscoll
Adam Dwyer
Liam Galligan
Christina Gangi
Claire Goudreau
Michael Greenstein
Christina Guo
Victoria Harvey
Miller Hickman
Mae Hoad
Jessica Hughes
Juliet Huneke
Dylan Ingerman
Hamail Iqbal
Grace Keegan
Kelsey Kennedy
Alisha Kewalramani
Vincent Kinget
Emily Kostolansky
Maxim Kulkarni
Timothy Ritter
Allison Schwartz
Rachel Schwartz
Joseph Shepard
Theo Stephen
John Stewart
Anna Turk

National Hispanic Recognition Program:

John Alvarez
Emma Cohron
Pedro Guicardi
Steve Molina

More than 1.6 million students took the Preliminary SAT / National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) in October 2016 and entered the nationwide National Merit Scholarship Program. In April of this year, the program identified the 50,000 highest scorers, with approximately 16,000 of the high performers designated as Semifinalists on a state representational basis. Semifinalists have the opportunity to continue in the Merit Scholarship competition and advance to Finalist standing in February 2018 by meeting a number of additional requirements. About 90% of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing.

The other 34,000 high performers are named as Commended Students based on a national Selection Index score of 211, applicable to all program participants without regard to state-by-state distribution. Participants who scored at or above 211, but below their state Semifinalist Selection Index score, are Commended Students.

A Letter of Commendation from Summit High School and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which conducts the program, will be presented by Summit High School Principal Stacy Grimaldi to each senior.