SUMMIT, NJ - Upon the conclusion of the 2017-18 school year, the Summit Public Schools held -- to kick-off preparations for the 2018-19 school session -- its annual Custodial / Maintenance Kick-Off event. Approximately 50 staff members joined together for a breakfast and presentations.

Facilities Director Angelo Palumbo outlined numerous District projects, including:

  • Renovations of the Culinary Arts room at Summit High School.
  • Renovations of the Lincoln-Hubbard Elementary main office.
  • A new playground at Franklin Elementary.
  • Improvements to both Wilson and Jefferson Primary Center playgrounds.
  • Window replacements at Washington Elementary.
  • New LED lights at Lawton C. Johnson Summit Middle School.
  • Cleaning and preparation of the classrooms, in anticipation of our returning students thie fall.

Staff were recognized for a combination of "a job well done" and "going above and beyond" in their respective roles. Board President Deb McCann and Superintendent of Schools June Chang congratulated Rodrigo Palomo and Bob Kersting on their Leadership Awards, as well as many others who received Certificates of Appreciation.

Sign Up for E-News

Certificate of Appreciation Recipients

Board of Education Administrative Office

Beth Boak *

Summit High School

Jack Sturm (Head)

Jemel Brinson (Night Supervisor)

Luis Andrade

Ricky Cooper

Stefan Dodrv

Donald Germain

Ronald Rodriguez

John Mazza

Carlos Salguero

Jake Wellbrock

Lawton C. Johnson Summit Middle School

Chris Pacio (Head)

Sean Mulligan (Night Supervisor)

Barry Bridges

Anibal Calderon

Shaquille Henderson

Nick Oczkowski

Ricardo Parra-Sanchez

Brayton Elementary School

Dave McKoy (Head)

Adam Filich

Dean Nano-Amburgo

Franklin Elementary School

Rodrigo Palomo (Head) **

Adrian Phillips

Charles Frank

Lincoln-Hubbard Elementary School

Gamel Nash(Head)

Gerson Gomes

Brandy Rushton

Washington Elementary School

Doug Maddy (Head) *

Nick DelDuca *

Eric Frazier

Diter Hakrama *

Jefferson Elementary School / Jefferson Primary Center

Bob Kersting (Head) **

Domenic Cino

Bill Malhosky

Paul Henning

Wilson Primary Center / Board of Education Office

Bob Stankwich *

Stephen Geller

Milagros Lopez

Maintenance Department

Sal Errante *

Rich Hughes *

Vince Inzillo *

Mike Martin0 *

Anthony Mastrocola *

** Leadership Award

* Certificate of Appreciation