SUMMIT, NJ - Ten officers have been recognized for meritorious service as the Summit Police Department held its annual department meeting on January 31. Dispatchers from the Mountain Valley Emergency Communications Center (MVECC) were also recognized. The meeting brings together all of the Department’s sworn and civilian personnel for a review of the agency’s public safety efforts, and included remarks from City Mayor Nora Radest, City Administrator Michael Rogers, as well as Councilwoman Mary Ogden.

During the meeting, Summit Chief of Police Robert K. Weck, also took time to recognize Officers in the Department for meritorious and distinguished actions taken during the course of their duties. The following Officers were awarded Departmental commendations:

Detective Sergeant Richard Proctor - Chief’s Special Recognition Award
Officer Rodney Watson - Distinguished Service Award
Officer Brian Werthman - Distinguished Service Award
Officer Paulo Santos - Distinguished Service Award
Officer Kathleen Maggiulli - Distinguished Service Award Officer
Jonathan Garcia - Distinguished Service Award Officer
Christopher Medina - Distinguished Service Award
Officer Gerald McDermott - Distinguished Service Award
Officer John Brunetto - Meritorious Service Award
Officer Matthew Tarentino - Chief’s Special Recognition Award

Sign Up for E-News

Chief Weck also award the Department’s Unit Citation to the following Dispatchers from the Mountain Valley Communication Emergency Communication Center:

Jackie Benkovich
Dave Geraghty
Nikki Griffiths
Sarah Nasto

“I am very proud of all of our personnel, both sworn and civilian,” said Weck. “The members of our agency and the MVECC who received recognition for their work reflect the high level of professionalism and expertise which all of our Officers demonstrate on a daily basis as part of the ongoing mission to provide the finest law enforcement services to our City. 2016 was an outstanding year for our Department and I’m looking forward to building upon our success in 2017.”