SUMMIT, NJ - There are wins, and then there are wins.

The Summit High School Speech and Debate Team, with more than 80 students competing in the final full-team local tournament of the season, saved perhaps its best for last and delivered a commanding 101-point margin First Place Sweepstakes victory at the Borelli Memorial Tournament in Freehold, placing a remarkable 54 finalists in the process.

The triumph saw Summit team members throw down a 1-2-3-4-5-6 sweep in Dramatic Interpretation and take places one through five in Duo Interpretation. Hilltoppers finished first in six categories: Novice Public Forum Debate, Dramatic Interpretation, Duo Interpretation, Humorous Interpretation, Oral Interpretation, and Program Oral Interpretation. Individual honors included:

Sign Up for E-News

Varsity Public Forum Debate

Tim Ritter and Kelsey Kennedy - Fifth Place

Junior Varsity Public Forum Debate

Angela Li and Abby Brandt - Fourth Place
Michael Greenstein and Jade Gala - Sixth Place

Novice Public Forum Debate

Carly Noble and Yulia Kuzniar - First Place


Adrian Gomes - Second Place

Dramatic Interpretation

Keegan McManus - First Place
Kimberly Lee - Second Place
Hope Kovera - Third Place
Matt Wilson - Fourth Place
Zack Olson - Fifth Place
Stefania Valera - Sixth Place

Duo Interpretation

Zack Olson and Erin Manion - First Place
Matt Wilson and Anne Borzner - Second Place
Cooper Daley and Harry Saroff - Third Place
Hope Kovera and Grace Milsten - Fourth Place
Annika Carlson and Alexa Carlson - Fifth Place

Humorous Interpretation

Annika Carlson - First Place
Cate Esposito - Second Place
James Badenhausen - Third Place
JJ Stewart - Fifth Place
Bella Anidjar - Sixth Place

Impromptu Speaking

Ryan Colon - Fifth Place
Surina Gupta - Sixth Place

Oral Interpretation

Alexa Carlson - First Place
Gerard Apruzzese - Second Place
Sarah Competiello - Third Place
Sam Sirabian -Fifth Place
Paloma Heredia - Seventh Place
Elizabeth Maloney - Eighth Place

Original Oratory

Matt Colon - Fourth Place
Surina Gupta - Fifth Place
Jeremy Shultz - Seventh Place

Program Oral Interpretation

Grace Milsten - First Place
Gerard Apruzzese - Third Place


Ben Schachter - Third Place
Sophie Reitz-Bouren - Fourth Place
Claire Goudreau - Fifth Place

Novice Congress

Grace Weinberg - Third Place