Summit, NJ – The Summit Municipal Democratic Committee (SMDC) voted in a new slate of officers at its January 30th meeting, to serve until the committee’s bi-annual re-organization in June.  Effective immediately, Andrea J. Stein is Committee Chair. Eric Salcedo continues in his role as 1st Vice Chair. Lisa Campbell is now 2nd Vice Chair, filling the seat recently vacated by Jean Smith Durham. Karen Raihofer serves as 3rd Vice Chair, the position previously held by Ms. Stein. Ms. Stein succeeds outgoing Chair Susan Hairston, who has held the position since 2015.

At a meeting that often felt like a party, a beaming Chair Hairston expressed her deep appreciation for the years she has enjoyed leading Summit’s Democratic Committee. “It has been a privilege to serve in this capacity during one of the most exciting times in our history,” she said.  During Ms. Hairston’s tenure, Summit residents elected their first majority Democratic Common Council, helped bring Tom Malinowski to Congress representing the 7th District, and re-elected the state’s two Democratic Senators.

As Committee members enjoyed slices of a celebratory cake decorated with “Thank You Susan,” Mayor Nora Radest and each of the five Democratic members of Common Council expressed their personal gratitude for her vision, mentorship, and unflagging energy as a leader. Applause was frequent and prolonged.

Sign Up for Summit Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

In accepting the position of Committee Chair going forward, Ms. Stein committed to continuing to establish the Summit Democrats as a party of vision, inclusiveness, and fiscal responsibility. “We want to hear everyone’s ideas, and we want everyone to feel welcome. At the end of the day, we are neighbors first.”

The next SMDC meeting is scheduled for February 27, 2019.  For more information on the SMDC, visit the website at