ELIZABETH, NJ - Union County will have a total of 22 secure ballot drop-off boxes, with Nicole DiRado, County Board of Elections Administrator, announcing that two additional ballot locations will be added for the November 3 General Election. There are now nine confirmed locations and, over the coming weeks, an additional 13 locations will be announced.

The locations of the nine installed drop-off boxes are:

  • Berkeley Heights – Snyder Avenue Park, 240 Snyder Avenue
  • Clark – Clark Recreation Center, 430 Westfield Avenue
  • Cranford – Cranford Community Center, 220 Walnut Avenue
  • Elizabeth – Union County Administration Building, 10 Elizabethtown Plaza
  • Rahway – Rahway Recreation Center, 275 East Milton Avenue
  • Roselle Park – Union County EMS Building, 535 Laurel Avenue
  • Plainfield – Plainfield Municipal Building Parking Lot, 515 Watchung Avenue
  • Union – Union Township Municipal Building Rear Entrance, 1976 Morris Avenue
  • Westfield – Fraser Building, 300 North Avenue East

“When all 22 ballot drop-off boxes are in place, Union County will far exceed Governor Phil Murphy’s mandate of at least 10 drop-off boxes per county,” said Ms. DiRado. “The extra locations will help ensure that every Union County voter has convenient access to a secure, reliable, method for casting their ballot in time to be counted.”

Sign Up for Summit Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Under Governor Murphy’s COVID-19 prevention orders, the November 3 General Election will be conducted primarily through Vote-by-Mail ballots. All registered voters will automatically receive their ballot in the mail, and are strongly urged to cast it as soon as they receive it.

Voters can choose any of the following methods to cast their Vote-by-Mail prior to, or on, Election Day, November 3:

1. Deposit your ballot in a secure Board of Elections drop-off box. Any Union County voter can use any drop-off box in any municipality, regardless of their residence. All drop-off boxes are available on a 24/7 basis from now until the polls close at 8 p.m. on Election Day, November 3.

A list of drop-off locations is posted on the Board of Elections website at ucnj.org/boe/ballot-drop-box-locations. The list will be updated as more drop-off boxes are added. Each drop-off box has been placed in a secure location that is under constant surveillance. The drop-off boxes are accessible only by Board of Elections staff and are emptied daily by a bipartisan team.

2. Return your ballot to the Board of Elections by U.S. Postal Service (postage is prepaid). Voters choosing this method are especially advised to mail their ballot as soon as they receive it, in order to avoid any unforeseen delivery delays.

3. Deliver your ballot by hand. Voters may bring their Vote-by-Mail ballot to the Board of Elections office at 271 North Broad Street in Elizabeth, or bring it to the Union County Clerk’s main office in Elizabeth at 2 Broad Street in Elizabeth, or the annex office at 300 North Avenue East in Westfield. On Election Day, all three offices will be open for extended hours until the polls close at 8 p.m. Voters choosing hand delivery are required to sign a register and provide a New Jersey driver’s license or other New Jersey identification.

4. Designate a ballot bearer to deliver your ballot by hand. By law, a ballot bearer may deliver up to three ballots for other voters to the Board of Elections or County Clerk’s offices. A ballot bearer may also bring up to three ballots for other voters to a Board of Elections drop-off box. Each Vote-by-Mail ballot includes instructions for designating a ballot bearer.

In addition, when the polls are open on Election Day voters may bring their Vote-by-Mail ballot to their designated polling place. A list of polling places is available at ucnj.org/boe/where-do-i-vote. Note that voters who come to a polling place without a Vote-by-Mail ballot will be provided with a provisional paper ballot to cast their vote.

ADA-accessible voting machines will be available at polling places only for voters with disabilities who certify that they cannot use a paper ballot.

Union County residents who have not registered to vote are reminded that the deadline for voter registration is Tuesday, October 13. For more information on voter registration visit ucnj.org/boe/voter-registration-information.

Board of Elections staff is available to answer questions about voter registration, and the office will provide extended hours on October 13 until 9:00 p.m. While visiting the office, voters must wear masks and observe social distance.

Vote-by-Mail ballots are being mailed to registered voters on a town-by-town basis. The mailings began on September 15 and will be completed on or before October 5. Voters can view the updated schedule of mailings on the County Clerk’s elections website, at UnionCountyVotes.com. The schedule is also available on the County Clerk’s free mobile app, UC Votes.

Vote-by-Mail ballots were sent to registered voters in Berkeley Heights, Clark, Cranford, Fanwood, Garwood, and Hillside on September 15.

Ballots were also sent to voters in Elizabeth on September 17, and are being sent to Mountainside and New Providence on September 18 and 19.

Mailing dates will be announced in the coming days for voters in Kenilworth, Linden, Plainfield, Rahway, Roselle, Roselle Park, Scotch Plains, Springfield, Summit, Union, Westfield and Winfield.