SUMMIT, NJ - Summit High School Class of 2020 grads Alexander Freire and Maneesh Nemani have each received The Summit Foundation's 'Award for Perseverance' and been awarded a $2,000 scholarship to support their respective college educations. The 'Award for Perseverance' honors students who demonstrate resolve and resilience in seeking to improve their academic performance throughout high school. The students were nominated by Summit High School teachers and guidance counselors.

This fall, Freire will attend Rutgers University - Newark and Nemani will attend Rutgers University - New Brunswick.

The Summit Foundation released additional scholarships through donor-advised funds, for a total of $54,000 in support of local college-bound students, including:

Sign Up for Summit Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Harry & Genevieve Kates Summit Kiwanis Memorial Scholarship

Summit High School student Nia King received the 'Harry & Genevieve Kates Summit Kiwanis Memorial Scholarship', which honors a student who has maintained an outstanding academic average and record of community service. The $1,000 scholarship is renewable for up to four years. King will attend Hofstra University.

The Adele M. Lynch Nursing Scholarship

Claire McFarland, Jane Wagner, and Michelle Yang, all of whom are pursuing a career in nursing, each received $2,000. McFarland graduated from New Providence High School and will attend Sacred Heart University. Wagner and Yang graduated from Summit High School. Wagner will attend Ramapo College of New Jersey and Yang will attend University of Michigan.

The Summit Foundation, formerly Summit Area Public Foundation, fosters philanthropy by identifying local needs and offering donors flexible ways to make a difference in the lives of their neighbors. Since 2010, The Summit Foundation has awarded $5.7 million through competitive grants to tax-exempt organizations that serve the area.

For more information, visit