SUMMIT, NJ - Twenty-five Class of 2021 Oak Knoll School of the Holy Child seniors -- including Claire Shurmur and Jodie De Jesus of Summit -- have earned AP Scholar and AP Scholar with Honor awards, respectively, for their performance on Advanced Placement tests, the College Board has announced.

AP Scholar awards are given each year to students who earned scores of 3 or higher in three or more AP exams.

Current Oak Knoll seniors named AP Scholars include:

Sign Up for Summit Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Madison Ballou ’21, of Short Hills; Emma Burgess ’21, of Franklin Lakes; Maura Ferrigno ’21 , of New Providence; Lauren Goetz ’21, of Chatham; Ryann Hillenbrand ’21, of Chatham; Megan Joel ’21, of Chatham; Mary Lawler ’21, of Short Hills; Kasey Lewis ’21, of Montville; Grace McCaghey ’21, of Jersey City; Margaret McCann ’21, of Madison; Cara Minter ’21, of Morristown; Gabriella Molia ’21 of Westfield; Madeline Morton ’21 of Chatham; Heather O’Hern ’21 of Westfield; Maeve Olson ’21 of Ridgewood; Sofia Russo ’21 of Chatham; Leticia Sefia ’21 of Irvington; Claire Shurmur ’21 of Summit; Bryana Slough ’21 of Madison; Jacqueline Snyder ’21 of New Providence; Christina Sutton ’21 of Madison and Katherine Whelan ’21 of Essex Fells.

Jodie De Jesus ’21, of Summit; Emma Gamboa ’21, of Landing; and Teresa Pollard ’21, of South Orange; were also recognized as AP Scholars with Honor for earning an average score of 3.25 on all AP exams and scores of 3 or higher on four or more exams.

The College Board further announced that Heather O’Hern ’21 of Westfield was named a National Merit Semi-Finalist and Teresa Pollard ’21 of South Orange was named as a commended student in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program based on their 2019 preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Tests (PSAT/NMSQT). 

In a new program announced this year, Leticia Sefia ’21 of Irvington and Kasey Lewis ’21 of Montville have both been named in the College Board National African American Recognition Program based on their October 2019 PSAT scores and their Oak Knoll School GPA.

Students considered for the African American Recognition Program must identify as Black or African American (including African and Afro-Caribbean origin) and be permanent residents of the United Stated or a United States Territory.