PISCATAWAY, NJ - A slew of stand-out individual performances highlighted the Summit High School Girls and Boys Swim Team showing at the recent Union County Championships held at Rutgers University. In the team competition -- which featured entries from 17 schools -- the Hilltopper Girls finished sixth overall and the Boys came in third, behind Westfield and Scotch Plains-Fanwood, both ranked in the state's top ten squads 

Girls - Three School Records and Three 'Meet of Champions' Qualifiers

Highlights included a second-place finish, a new school record, and qualification for the upcoming  NJSIAA 'Meet of Champions' (MOC) by the 400 Free Relay Team of Katie Greer, Natalie Wisniewski, Kaitlyn Hersch, and Abby Claus. The 200 Medley Relay team of Julia Bligh, Wisniewski, Hersch, and Claus took fifth and also will swim in the MOC.

Sign Up for E-News

In the 50 Free, Claus finished third, broke her own school record, and delivered an MOC-qualifying time. The senior replicated those feats in the 100 Free and, in the process, broke a school mark that had stood since 1977.

Other strong finishes were supplied by Hersch, who finished fifth in the 200 IM and sixth in the 100 Breaststroke and Greer, who finished third in the 500 Free.

Personal best times were also swam by Emily Kostolansky, Kaitlin Shimek, Kate Tully, Daniela Ospina, Ellie Sullivan, Emily Misiewicz, Charlotte Greer, Sophie Reitz-Bouren, Alisha Kewalaramani and Nicole Salas

Bligh, Ingerman Pace Hilltoppers to Podium Spot

A string of top-six finishes and personal bests helped propel the Summit Boys to third-place overall. Among the highlights:

Ben Campbell, Conor Fagan, Jordan Goldberg, Dylan Ingerman delivered a third-place finish in the 200IM Relay, with Goldberg, Ingerman, Campbell Rankine and Cole Bligh producing the identical result in the 400 Free Relay.

Bligh took fourth in the 200 Free, and third in the 500 Free, while Ingerman finished in sixth-place in the 100 Free as did Fagan in the 100 Back.

Personal best swims by the boys came from Rawleigh Pollock, Bryan Harvey, Will Kassemeyer, Patrick Boyd, Brian Coburn, Matthew McGregor and Robert Scott.