UNION, NJ - On Wednesday, the Township of Union swore in five new police officers to the department.  “We wish these young men luck as they embark on this journey,” said Mayor Manuel Figueiredo. “I know that once they’re on patrol they will protect and serve with as much fervor as they have displayed throughout this process and now in the academy.”  

Taking the oath were Christopher Faustino, Joseph Peterson. Raymond Del Valle,

Jason Sullivan and Adedeji Akere.

Officer Akere will start patrol on Friday, January 22, as a transfer from another police department while the four other officers began the academy on Friday, January 15.  They will be in the academy until June 14, after which each officer will be assigned to a patrol shift.