CRANFORD, NJ – Nine Union residents were among the class of one hundred and nine students to receive their nursing diplomas at the Trinitas School of Nursing 161st Convocation Ceremony held recently at St. Michael's Church in Cranford. 

Surrounded by family, friends, and staff that supported their efforts, 99 women and 10 men proudly accepted their pins and became eligible to sit for the registered nurse licensing exam.  Union graduates are:  Isabel D. Alba, Marielissa D. Aviles, Toni Marie Collazo, Lamoi S. Lawson, Diana Louise S. Lenon, Danielle R. McKenith, Adriana Rupcic, Stacy Sanchez, and Viergela M. Vincent.  Additionally, Adriana Rupcic was presented with the Naeisha Massenburg Memorial Award.

"The Trinitas School of Nursing is so proud of the 109 graduates- the first graduating class of the new decade, the Class of January 2020," said Dr. Rose Santee, Dean of the Trinitas School of Nursing, a collaborative nursing program with Union County College.  

Sign Up for Union Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

"The graduates receive a diploma in nursing from Trinitas School of Nursing that will authorize them to sit for the RN licensing exam and Union County College awards the graduates with the Associate in Science degree.  Their determination and hard work has paid off.  It's exciting for the administration, faculty, staff members, and their families when our students graduate. We will miss them, but more, we are full of the satisfaction that we have guided yet another group of capable nurses who are now ready to join the nursing workforce,” Dr. Santee added.

The invocation was given by Rosemary Moynihan, SC, Ph.D., Vice President of Mission Effectiveness/LCSW. Senior Class Address was delivered by graduate nurse Kathleen Gomez and welcoming remarks were made by graduate nurse Lori L. Simmons.

Other graduates of the School of Nursing include:

Kareema E. Abdelfattah, Kenilworth; Beonca M. Abdullah, Roselle; Jawada Abdullah, East Orange;  Sarojben S. Adroja, Edison; Jessica C. Alvarez, Westfield; Pamela Arango, Hillside; Marie Regina Banasiak, Avenel; Jaz Phillipps Barredo, Elizabeth; Pamela Basmadjian, Linden; Tania M. Benavides Lazo, Elizabeth; Bertha Boateng, Linden; Rufo Calazan, Bayonne; Loraine Calderon Nunez, Linden; Jean Paul Cambry, Spring Valley, NY; Beatriz L. Carvalho, Elizabeth; Alexandra Cassara, Kearny; Kettelange F. Cherismay, Hillsborough; Nichole C. Chafos, Somerville; Rophina Chukwukere, Newark; Tamia S. Cook, Elizabeth; Sasha T. Cox, Perth Amboy; Michel J. Cruz, Elizabeth; Joyce D. D'Annunzio, Warren; Brittany N. Darrow, Rahway; Jennifer Datus, Rahway; Jacqueline M. DeFilippo, Clark; Jacksonn Doll, Neshanic Station; William T. Donegan Jr., Elizabeth; Tatiane Carvalho Dos Santos, Westfield; Maria Cecilia M. Eiseman, Springfield; Chidinma Enyi, Linden; Kim D. Faigao, Linden; Chrislyne Fenelus, Linden; Estrella Lissette Flores, Bronx, NY; Khaylen R. Foster, Staten Island, NY; Datlen Sephany Genois, Brooklyn, NY; Ashley Marie Giles, Staten Island, NY; Kathleen Gomez, Lyndhurst; Virginia Olga Iris Gonzalez, Jersey City; Nancy Gonzalez-Hernandez, Elizabeth; Patricia L. Granados, Elizabeth; Alison Grant-Rosemond, Linden; Alyssa R. Gutkin, Monroe Township; Erin A. Haggerty, Staten Island; Searah Jessica Hawkins, Belleville; Kevin L. Higa, Linden; Rachel F. Horace, Hillside; Jennifer N. Irigoyen, Elizabeth; Angelia James, Bronx, NY; Elica James-Douglas, Brooklyn, NY; Edwina Joseph, Roselle; Julie Jusu, Rahway; Kahee Kanneh, Staten Island, NY; Ada Ricio Linares, Newark; Lude Kema Louisy, Linden; Arianna G. Magsino, Linden; Stephanie Lee Maisonet, Staten Island, NY; Gina L. Massie, Staten Island, NY; Ruth E. Membreno-Vasquez, Elizabeth; Sofia A. Mendoza, Elizabeth; Rebecca Mentor, Elizabeth; Janelle C. Milne, East Orange; Maria P. Miranda, Roselle; Kiyana E. Nelson, Staten Island, NY; Maia Ninashvili, Clark; Patience A. Opaola, Linden; Betneris J. Pagan, Roselle Park; Margarita M. Papa, South Plainfield; Geraldyn C. Parel, Edison; Reema N. Patel, Piscataway; Sajal P. Patel, Linden; Beatrice Paul-Francois, Brooklyn, NY; Andrea E. Pazmino, North Plainfield; Vatesse D. Pleasant, Old Bridge; Gretel Prestan, Chatham; Claire Racek, Cranford; Mobeen Rahman, Iselin; Lucy Ramirez, Roselle; Michael Roche, Hillside; Mark P. Rodrigues, Newark; Rajni Roy, Morganville; Rosemarie M. San Diego, Bayonne; Lori L. Simmons, Newark; Jessica Solano, Elizabeth; Tiffany S. Spann, Paterson; Ilirida Tale, Manalapan; Tamara B. Ovalle-Marquez, Elizabeth; Christine Theodore, Linden; Edline Thermitus, Union; Ashley Michele Thomas, Hillside; Carlotta Denine Thompson, Staten Island, NY; Jessica Valdez, Bethlehem, PA; Vanessa Valencia, Elizabeth; Sean V. Vargas, Linden; Marie Mireille Vilceus, Roselle; Cornelia E. Wacaster, Berkeley Heights; Tonya M. Ward, Rahway; Lauren N. Wigfall, Linden; and Jessica Ann Zimmer, Staten Island, NY.

Other awards given to graduates were: First Scholarship Award, Marie Regina Banasiak, (Edison); Second Scholarship Award, Geraldyn Parel (Edison); Auxiliary Award, Kareema Abdelfattah (Edison); 2020 Nursing Service Professional Transformation Award Marie Regina Banasiak (Edison); Lily Bierstein Memorial Award, Michael Roche (Hillside); Gerontological Nursing Award, Loraine Calderon Nunez (Linden); Alumni Association Award, Jennifer Datus (Rahway); Curtis Crumbley Memorial Award, Patience Opaola (Linden); George F. Billington Leadership Award, Elica James-Douglas (Brooklyn, NY); The Giving Back Award, Margarita Papa (South Plainfield), Emily H. Wall Memorial Award, Lauren Wigfall (Linden), and the Daisy Award, Cornelia E. Wacaster, (Berkeley Heights).

Trinitas School of Nursing, operated jointly by Trinitas Regional Medical Center and Union County College, currently holds full accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN), and the New Jersey State Board of Nursing. The National League for Nursing has awarded the School of Nursing a third designation as a Center of Excellence in Nursing Education status for the years 2015 - 2020 for Creating Environments that Enhance Student Learning and Professional Development. The School also holds a 20-year, 40-class national licensing examination (NCLEX) passage rate of 86.30% on first writing.