UNION, NJ – One sitting Democratic Township Committee member and a single Republication candidate have filed petitions in accordance with the 4:00 p.m. filing deadline for their respective party’s nomination.  There is one Township Committee seat up in the November general election.

Filing for re-election to the Township Committee is Democratic Deputy Mayor Joseph Florio.  Filing for the Republican nomination is Union resident Justin Verzosa, who previously ran for Township Committee in 2015.  Independent candidates have until 4:00 p.m. on June 6 to file for the general election.

On the legislative front, running for the democratic nomination for the 20th Legislative District is current Union County Sheriff Joseph Cryan.  Running for the General Assembly are the two democratic incumbents Annette Quijano and Jamel Holley.  The 20th Legislative District covers Union, Elizabeth, Roselle and Hillside.

Sign Up for E-News

On the Republican side, running unopposed for the nomination for State Senate is Asharf Hannah of Union.  According to the New Jersey Division of Elections website at press time, Michael Barrett of Hillside has filed for one of the two Republican seats for the General Assembly. 

Editor's Note:  In the interest of transparency, TAPinto Union's franchisee/owner/publisher, Kathy Cryan, is married to Union County Sheriff and State Senate candidate Joe Cryan