UNION, NJ – Members of the Union High School Fighting Farmers football team were honored by the mayor and Township Committee at Tuesday night’s committee meeting at Town Hall.

“I was there when we were in the state championships back in the 80s and 90s,” said Deputy Mayor Joe Florio.  “Let me tell you something:  You’re one of the best teams we’ve ever had.  Be proud of what you did,” he said to the Group 5, Section II champs.  “You brought the Union football program back to the greatness it was,” Florio added.

A State Resolution was presented to the team by Senator Joseph Cryan.  “Great athletes can only excel if they have great leadership.  You brought a community together.  Great athletes, great students, great work.”

Sign Up for Union Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

“I want to thank everyone,” said Coach Lou Grasso, “for all of the support we received from the administration, from the parents and from the community.  It was a pleasure.  These guys worked really hard.  They deserve everything they get.”

“We’re extremely proud of you,” said Board of Education President Nancy Minneci.  “You put us back on the map.  Thank you so much.”

Honored with Mayor’s Awards were coaches honored were Lou Grasso, Chris D’Andrea, Ron Zieser, Jimmy Melody, Aaron Williams, Carmen Marano, Dan Grasso and Jason Scott, and athletic trainers Meg Berry and Johnny Rodriguez, and Union High School Fighting Farmers football players:

Ahmirr Robinson

Kayir McBride

Diante Wilson

Desmond Igbinosun

Tahjee Smith

Christian Murrell

Aaron Myrick

Charles Ozurumba

Tre Noelsaint

Freud Jeantilus

Andrew Sanborn

Kofi Ansah

Elijah White

Chris Williams

Shawn Smith

Miles McEachin

Jalen Carter

Ricardo Casas

Davison Igbinosun

Endy Florestal

Kendall Bournes

Louikenzy Jules

Shamar Irby

Darius Presley  

Nick Rua

Khari Parker

Najee Pinckney

Chiemela Onuegbu

JaQuan Robinson

Jared Durand

Terell Cannon

Malachi Pierre-Louis

Warren Francis

Joshua Duvalson

D’Shawn Etienne

Kelvin Bruce

Stainley Antoine

Shakeem Campbell

Jahleel Nicolas