UNION, NJ – The unofficial results of the highly competitive race for one Township of Union Committee seat and three Board of Education seats are in.

Democratic incumbent Deputy Mayor Joseph Florio won the Committee seat tonight against Republican Justin Verzosa and Independent Jason Krychiw.

For the Board of Education race, Linda Richardson and incumbent Vito Nufrio have been declared unofficial winners.  Incumbent Ronnie McDowell and challenger Sharon Sherry Higgins are in a race too close to call for the third and final seat.  It is anticipated that provisional ballots will be required to be tallied before that determination can be made.

Sign Up for E-News

“I want to thank the people of Union for again having the confidence in me,” said Florio.  “I will continue to work with the Township Committee to run an efficient government in this great town of Union.”

No response to requests for comment from the other candidates was received.

County-wide, Peter Corvelli won in the race for County Sheriff, and incumbent Freeholders Angel Estrada and Christopher Hudak captured their freeholder seat along with newcomer and current Hillside mayor Angela Garretson.

In the 20th Legislative District, Joseph Cryan won the Senate seat and Annette Quijano and Jamel Holley the assembly seats.