UNION, NJ – Union High School’s newest members of the Athletic Hall of Fame were recently inducted in a ceremony at Galloping Hill Caterers.

Inductees and their families gathered for an evening hosted by former Superintendent of Schools Dr. Ted Jakubowski.  A committee of eleven members including current and former coaches, teachers and athletes, choose the inducted athletes.

Athletic Director Linda Ionta, Athletic Trainer Meg Berry, athletic secretaries Josephine Palumbo and Phyllis Lang put the program together in honor of those who have upheld the values and traditions of being a Union Farmer.

Sign Up for E-News

“This is our third time recognizing such wonderful accomplishments,” said Ionta.  “We are proud of the tremendous history our athletes, coaches and teams have established through the years – it has brought great pride to the Union community. It is always a difficult task deciding who is deserving of induction.”

This year’s inductees range from gymnasts, baseball players and football players to wrestlers and track and field athletes.

Union High School’s Hall of Fame Class of 2017:


Frank Araneo                                   Gary Mobley

Suzanne Detjen Zawacki                Robin Petras Davison

Jackie Goldberg                              Dr. James Sarn

Andrea Labonia Byrne                     Brian Sheridan

Alison Mellage Campise                 Roy Woodton

Andrew Meltzoff                              James Young


Robert O’Dell (Posthumously)


1991 Football

2005 Gymnastics

Special Contributor

Bill Parson

“With every Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony, it is a special place to watch the love and admiration these student-athletes have for their families, coaches and teammates,” added Berry.  “These men and women represent the best of Union High School Athletics and we are proud to provide a platform for them to be recognized for their contribution to the legacy of the Union Farmers Athletics. Like they say... Once a Farmer always a Farmer. “