UNION, NJ – The top three Union High School finalists of the Marvin Orella Speech Contest were honored by the Rotary Club of Union on Wednesday night at the Rotary’s Annual Eloquence Soiree.

The speech contest, in its 20th year, has provided over $100,000 in scholarships since its inception in 1997.

Guests at the Soiree heard the speeches of the top three finalists, Sabrina Prevost, Sienna Bucu and Nikka Jarabe, who were not aware of the winning outcome. 

Sign Up for E-News

Prevost won first place and a $2,500 scholarship.  Bucu placed second with a $1,500 scholarship and Jarabe won third place and a $1,000 scholarship.

Honored with the Rotary Excellence in Education Award were Thomas Matthews, Principal, Washington School; Kathryn DiGiovanni, Principal, Hannah Caldwell School; Benjamin Kloc, Principal, Livingston School; Michelle Osborne-Warren, Principal, Connecticut Farms School; Mark Hoyt, Principal, Battle Hill School; Latee Walton-McCleod Principal, Franklin School; and Jason Sterlacci, teacher, Burnett Middle School, Jeopardy Teachers Tournament of Champions Winner.

Chaired by past Rotary Club President Julie D’Aloia, the evening was capped off with a Basket Auction and Super 50/50 which helped to fund the scholarships.

“The Union Rotary is grateful for the opportunity to challenge and reward the fine students of Union High School and thanks to the community for lending its support of this cause,” said Rotary Club of Union President Laura Bretzger.  “The club welcomes any member of the community who might like to join our group in putting ‘Service above Self’”.

Meetings are held every Thursday at the Suburban Country Club at 12:15. For more information about Rotary, please contact Membership Chair, Sharon Patel at 908-964-6422 or join us on Facebook at facebook.com/unionrotary.