UNION COUNTY, NJ - Union County Freeholder Chairman Bruce H. Bergen and Freeholder Bette Jane Kowalski presented resolutions to the 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th grade winners of the 2016 Union County Arbor Day Poetry Contest.

4th Grade:

First Place:  Miriam Walsh, Holy Trinity School, Westfield

Sign Up for E-News

Second Place:  Devon, Franklin Elementary School, Union

Third Place:  Asher Wallace, Franklin Elementary School, Union

5th Grade:

First Place:  Sebastian Saavedra, Robert Gordon Elementary School, Roselle Park

Second Place: Abigail George, Jefferson School, Vauxhall

Third Place:  Natalie Ortiz, #27 Dr. Antonia Pantoja School, Elizabeth

6th Grade:

First Place: Alissa Stotz, Lincoln School,  Garwood

Third Place:  Natalie McBride, Carl H. Kumpf Middle School, Clark  

7th Grade:

First Place: Martha Byrne, Holy Trinity School, Westfield

Second Place:  Emily Haines, Columbia Middle School, Berkeley Heights

Third Place:  Andrew Figueroa, St. John the Apostle, Clark

 8th Grade:

First Place:  Anya Nordstrom, Lincoln School, Garwood

Second Place: Jade Condez, St. John the Apostle, Clark

Third Place:  Chidinma Chigozie-Nwo, Walter O. Krumbiegel Middle School, Hillside

A total of 164 poems were entered by students in 4th thought 8th grade from 29 schools throughout Union County. The winners were selected by a group of volunteer judges. This event is sponsored by the Union County Board of Chosen Freeholders in cooperation with the Union County Shade Tree Advisory Board.