UNION, NJ – Nicholas John Garry became an Eagle Scout at a Court of Honor held with Boy Scout Troop 68 on Saturday at the First Presbyterian Church of Connecticut Farms.

Garry, 18, built an ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) accessible table, four ADA accessible planters and two benches for residents at Cornell Hall, a care and rehabilitation center located on Chestnut Street.  The project included planning the steps necessary to complete the project, fundraising for materials and supplies and recruiting volunteers to help.

“I selected that facility because in cub scouts we’d go there and sing Christmas carols to the residents,” said Garry.  “I figured it would be good to help them out.”

Sign Up for Union Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Garry, a Union High School graduate, is a freshman at Union County College.  He plans to transfer to NJIT or Rutgers to study engineering.  “I learned so much from my Eagle Scout project,” said Garry, “from carpentry skills and how to work with tools to how to put a plan into action.”

Union Mayor Manuel Figueiredo attended and presented Garry with a Certificate of Achievement for his hard work. 

Troop 68 Scout Master Alex Rivera said Garry’s is the 105th Eagle Scout earned in the troop’s 90 year history. 

Eagle Scout is the highest advancement rank in Boy Scouting.  To earn the rank, a Boy Scout must progress through the ranks of Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, and Life Scout and earn 21 merit badges or more.  Garry earned 29 merit badges, held multiple leadership roles in the troop and was senior patrol leader for six months.  Garry spent 99 nights camping, hiked 41 miles and performed 65 service hours.

 "I am very proud to be able to say I am among a distinguished group of men that call themselves Eagle Scouts," said Garry.  Famous Eagle Scouts include astronauts Neil Armstrong, the first man to walk on the moon, and James Lovell of Apollo 13 fame, Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer, former NJ Senator Bill Bradley, former NYC Mayor Mike Bloomberg, Oscar-winning director Steven Spielberg, Michael Dukakis, former Governor of Massachusetts and 1988 Presidential candidate, Wal*Mart founder Sam Walton, and President Gerald R. Ford.