UNION, NJ - The Monday, 4:00 p.m., deadline for filing candidates for the two, three-year terms for Township Committee has passed. 

The Township of Union Democratic Municipal Committee and the United New Union Democrats have each filed petitions for the two positions on the Township Committee.  The democratic primary election match-up for the three-year terms are:

Democratic Municipal Committee:

Sign Up for Union Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Incumbent Clifton People, Jr.

Incumbent Suzette Cavadas

United New Union Democrats:

Jason Krychiw

Misael Guzman.

Krzysztof Nowak and David J. Fitzpatrick have filed to run for the Township Committee on the Republication ticket.  The winner of the Democratic primary on the June 4 election will face off against the Republican challengers in November.

County Committee seats are two-year terms with Republicans and Democrats alternating election cycles.  This year, Democrats for County Committee are running.  In Union, there are 50 districts, with 100 committee seats (one male; one female from each district). 

The Democratic Municipal Committee filed two petitions in each of the 50 districts, filing for all 100 seats.   United New Union Democrats filed in 31 districts for 51 seats.