UNION, NJ - The League of Women Voters will sponsor a forum for Union Township Committee at 7:15 p.m. Oct. 23 in the Union Township Municipal Building, 1976 Morris Avenue.

 The evening will start with a two-minute opening presentation in which candidates are asked to give biographical information and their position on what they consider  the most import issues in the election. They then will have one minute to reply to written questions from the audience and 30 seconds for rebuttals. Summations will be limited to a maximum of two minutes each. The candidates, who are running for a single open seat on the governing body, are Joseph M. Florio, Democrat; Justin Verzosa, Republican, and Jason F. Krychiw, Residents for Change.

As in past years, candidates who are unable to attend have been given the option of sending in written statements, which will be read by the League moderator.

Sign Up for E-News

Sydelle Hirsch and Michele Cerrato Mannino, voter service co-chairpersons for the Union League, are in charge of arrangements.

The candidates night, which is free and open to the public, is sponsored by the League of Women Voters as part of its voter service program. In another part of that program, League members Dawn Clark, Joyce Marshall and Hirsch were joined by Linda Smith of the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority in conducting voter registration at the Union Public Library recently.