UNION, NJ – Teens interested in learning more about Union’s newly formed Teen Advisory Committee attended an informational session on Thursday at Union High School.  About 20 students, from freshmen to seniors, attended the meeting, hosted by facilitators Nadine James and Rob White, with Mayor Michele Delisfort, and Supervisor of School Counseling Nicole Ahern.

“It’s important for people to have a voice in the township in which they live,” said Delisfort.  “I wanted to reach out to teens, ages 14-18, to see what your concerns are, whether they are about your neighborhood or your town, whether they are social, physical, or environmental.  At the end of the day, the way to get things done is to have a voice, to understand how the township committee and the politics in your town works and to be part of that.”

The committee will be open to all Union teens, from Union High School, surrounding private schools, the Union County Magnet schools and home schooled teens.

Sign Up for Union Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

As outlined by James, responsibilities of the committee members will be:

  • To provide operation, programs and policies in support of the board’s strategic goals.
  • To contribute to the goals set by the committee
  • To attend monthly meetings prepared for discussion items

Committee members are required to attend at least eight meetings a year (summer months included).  Input from all members is a key part of the committees’ mission. Time commitments will include projects, events and research beyond meetings (i.e., TAC newsletter articles, community awareness engagements, etc.).  James said an average of two hours per month will be required.

Lifelong Union resident and retired Newark firefighter Rob White said, “this is a great opportunity to get involved in what goes on in Union.  This is your committee.  You are the future of the town.”

Teens interested in signing up for the Teen Advisory Committee should reach out to Nadine James at nadinejames76@gmail.com.  The deadline for application submissions is January 6.