UNION, NJ – Nine Union residents have filed a petition with the Union County Clerk’s Office declaring their intention to run for Union Board of Education seats in November.

The deadline for filing for the November election for three, three-year terms was Monday, July 29.  Three incumbent School Board members -- President Nancy Minneci, Mary Lynn Williams and Nellis Regis-Darby -- have each filed a petition.  The six other candidates are Alexander J. Balaban; former School Board member Jeffrey Monge; former School Board member Guy A. Francis; Chastity Santana; Nadege Ricketts; and Kimberly L. Scott Hayden.

The school board race is considered non-partisan.  The election is Tuesday, November 5.