UNION, NJ – Five new Union police officers were sworn into office on Thursday at Town Hall.

Joining the department are:   Peter J. McTernan, Quasheema M. Majette, Tamika T. Williams, Manuel L. Vaz and Samantha L. Bierilo.

McTernan joins the department from the Union County Sheriff’s Office.  He had previously completed the police academy.  The other four recruits will begin the John H. Stamler Police Academy tomorrow, with completion in December.

Sign Up for E-News

“You’re about to begin a new career,” said Deputy Mayor and Police Commissioner Joseph Florio.  “This is one of the elite organizations in the state.  Our community loves our police force.  We have a great relationship with the people.  We have great officers.”

McTernan joins his brother Union police officer John McTernan.