WARREN, NJ - Some results are in. 

Donald Trump will be the new President of the United States.

And Republicans have won control of the Senate and the House of Representatives. Some races in Warren and Somerset County are too close to call. Bob Morrison was re-elected to the Watchung Hills Board of Education and Carolann Garafola was re-elected to the Warren Township Committee.

Sign Up for E-News


At 2:42 a.m. CNN reported that Hillary Clinton has called Donald Trump to concede. 

It was reported at 2:31 a.m. that Donald Trump has won Wisconsin and with it, the electoral college. 

 “I just received a call from Secretary Clinton. She congratulated us on our victory and I congratulated her and her family on a very, very hard-fought campaign,” Trump said in his victory speech. "To all Republicans and Democrats and independents across this nation, I say it is time for us to come together as one united people.”


Warren residents headed to the polls Tuesday to elect a member of the township committee, two members of the Watchung Hills Board of Education and three members of the Warren Township Board of Education. Besides the local races, voters in Warren cast ballots for Somerset County Sheriff and Freeholders, Congressional District 7 and U.S. President.

" I am once again ready to get to work on my 8th term," said Garafola. "It appears from the over 5800 votes that I actually had bi-partisan support in Warren Twp & that is a tribute to the entire Republican Twp Committee team in Warren. We will continue to put our residents first. I thank the residents for their support. It was one of the most exciting elections in my lifetime."

"I want to thank the citizens of Warren for putting their faith in me by overwhelmingly returning me to office for a second term on the Watchung Hills Regional Board of Education," said Bob Morrison. "It is truly an honor to be able to serve. I promise I will continue to represent all of the citizens by keeping the best interest of our students at the center of our efforts as we work to make Watchung Hills Regional the best possible district for everyone. Thank you all for your overwhelming support tonight. I will not let you down!"

Results are unofficial. 

In the Schools:

Only two people filed for three available seats on the nine-member Warren Township Board of Education, however, two challengers have announced write-in candidacies. Incumbent Lisa DiMaggio, who filed for a second term, and Patricia Zohn are on the ballot. Challengers Jeannine Sarosy and David Brezee have each announced their write-in candidacy.

Two incumbents and one challenger competed for two positions representing Warren on the 10-member Watchung Hills Regional High School Board of Education. Incumbents Peter Fallon, who wants to be re-elected to a fourth term, and Robert Morrison, who seeks his second term, were challenged by Patrick Fahy.

So far: 

In the 7th District Congressional race, incumbent Rep. Leonard Lance (R-7th) won over Democrat challenger Peter Jacob. District wide, Lance received 123,470 votes, 53 percent of the total; Jacob had 94,007 votes, 42 percent.


Uncontested Warren Township Committee
One three-year term
Carolann Garafola (R)




Somerset County

About 71 percent of the county's 223,000 registered voters went to the polls.

At 12:30 a.m. Provenzano held a slim lead over Russo while Walsh led Singleterry.


One, three-year term


Frank Provenzano * 72,906 (50.49%)


Darrin Russo 71,500 (49.51%)

Board of Chosen Freeholders

One, three-year term


Patricia "Pat" Walsh * 74,301 (52.28%)


Doug Singleterry 67,824 (47.72%)

And too close to call with write-ins still being counted:

Warren Township Board of Education
Three, three-year terms

Patricia Zohn.....3,092

Lisa DiMaggio.....3,479


David Brezee ?

Jeannine Sarosy ?

Watchung Hills Regional Board of Education

Two, three-year terms

John Patrick Fahy.....2,511

Robert B. Morrison.....3,125

Peter Fallon.....1,785


And New Jersey voters rejected a plan to expand expand casino gambling to the northern part of the state and said yes to question No. 2 dedicating the gas tax to transportation related projects.