WARREN, NJ  – Five teachers have been recognized for their exceptional contributions to the students of the Warren Township School District, as part of a district initiative to reward exemplary educators.

The following teachers are this year’s recipients of the Excellence in Education Award (formerly the Governor’s Teacher Recognition Award):

  1. Catherine Maguire, special education teacher, Mt. Horeb School, 8 years with Warren Township Schools

    Sign Up for E-News

  2. Catherine Murphy, special education teacher, Angelo L. Tomaso School, 9 years with Warren Township Schools

  3. Vivien Plesmid, Grade 7 language arts teacher, Warren Middle School, 13 years with Warren Township Schools

  4. Jennifer SanAntonio, Grade 5 writing teacher, Central School, 4 years with Warren Township Schools

  5. Adam Yenish, Grade 5 math teacher, Woodland School, 16 years with Warren Township Schools

Each award recipient was chosen for his/her commitment to important academic, social and developmental criteria, including:

  • -  quality and innovative classroom instruction;

  • -  positive interactions with students, staff and parents;

  •  - fostering an environment where each student feels welcome and is able to achieve to his/her fullest potential.

    The Warren Township Board of Education will award each of the recipient a $500 grant to be used toward an educational purchase for his/her classroom.