WARREN, NJ -The Excellence in Education Program is part of the district’s initiative to recognize and reward exemplary educators in schools. For the 27th consecutive year (twenty years under the Governor’s Teacher Recognition Award), a Warren Township recognition panel solicited nominations and selected award recipients. This year’s recipients are noted below.
• Nancy Andrews: Grade 5 Teacher Angelo L. Tomaso School, 13 years in district
• Rebecca Davenport: Art Teacher, Central School, 5 years in district
• Stacey Lederman: Special Education Teacher, Mt. Horeb School, 16 years in district
• Dorothy Stolfi: Grade 1 Teacher, Woodland School, 15 years in district
• Heather Saum: Grade 8 Teacher, Warren Middle School, 11 years in district
These teachers clearly distinguished themselves during the school year through:
 Use of effective instructional techniques and methods
 Establishment of productive classroom climate and rapport with students
 Development of feelings of self-worth and love of learning in students
 Positive interactions with students, staff, and parents while functioning as a frontline advocate for the student between home and school
 Fostering an appropriate environment for learning and exploring creative alternatives to enable all students to achieve to their fullest potential
 Supporting classroom instruction by addressing the educational, social, and emotional needs of all students
 Personal interactions with students that demonstrate professionalism while retaining respect, humor, compassion, and concern for the whole child
 Use of creativity, innovation and efficiency in the classroom
 Ability to contribute to the quality of the professional development in their district
 Ability to utilize educational technology in an effective and efficient manner
In demonstrating support of the recognition program and the educators selected, the Warren Township Board of Education will provide a $500 grant per recipient to be used toward an educational purchase for her classroom.