PISCATAWAY, NJ – Top seeded Piscataway Chiefs sent No. 2 Watchung Hills Warriors back up the mountain after clinching their first ever NJSIAA North 2 Group 5 wrestling title, 39-24 on Friday in the PHS Anthony Gym.

“This is the first win in school history,” said Coach Dan Smith whose Chiefs team lost in the semifinals last year. “We’re really happy on the win. The guys worked their butts off. We planned well for the match and can’t be happier. We’re really proud of the guys.”

The Chiefs recorded wins through the first nine rounds of action with Gabriel Rodrigues (152) setting the tone by winning the opening match of the evening by decision over the Warrior’s Marc Larson, 5-3.

Sign Up for E-News

Piscataway’s Joseph Hatcher (160) and Michael Petite (170) both recorded major decisions in their rounds while Sam Rogers (285) got the pin over Watchung Hills’ Calvan Davis at 5:22.

Also recording a pin for Piscataway’s was Daniel Mikita (106) over Tanner Ash in the eighth round at 1:34.

But later in the tenth round, the Warriors’ Danny Miller (120) rallied to defeat the Chief’s Erick Valentin by decision, 6-3. This seemed to give the visiting team a boost back into the match as they went on to win the last five rounds, with Nick Ciraulo (132) and Rob Saum (138) winning by fall over their Piscataway opponents.

The Chiefs move on to compete at the state group semifinals on Sunday at Pine Belt Arena in Toms River. Winners will fight for state titles at the conclusion of the semifinals round.

Piscataway’s overall team record improves to 16-5, and 5-2 in the GMC Red conference division. Watchung Hills finishes the season at 12-7 overall, and 6-0 in the conference division.


152: Gabriel Rodrigues (PISC) over Marc Larson (WHR) (Dec 5-3)

160: Joseph Hatcher (PISC) over Joe Senatore (WHR) (MD 13-3)

170: Michael Petite (PISC) over Griffin Rocco (WHR) (MD 17-7)

182: Nick Recine (PISC) over Justin Hayward (WHR) (SV-1 6-4)

195: Paris Foster (PISC) over Joe Ross (WHR) (Dec 1-0)

220: Elijah Pitt-Goodson (PISC) over   (WHR) (Forfeit)

285: Samuel Rogers (PISC) over Calvan Davis (WHR) (Fall 5:22)

106: Daniel Mikita (PISC) over Tanner Ash (WHR) (Fall 1:34)

113: Maximus Parra (PISC) over Kyle Williams (WHR) (MD 9-0)

120: Danny Miller (WHR) over Erick Valentin (PISC) (Dec 6-3)

126: Ed Williams (WHR) over Robert McEvoy (PISC) (Dec 4-0)

132: Nick Ciraulo (WHR) over Chris Aikens (PISC) (Fall 5:19)

138: Rob Saum (WHR) over Marcus Petite (PISC) (Fall 3:01)

145: Jacob Stasil (WHR) over   (PISC) (Forfeit)