WAYNE, NJ – Recently, the Passaic County Board of Chose Freeholders held their reorganization meeting and a special swearing-in ceremony for newly re-elected Freeholders Pat Lepore and Terry Duffy, along with Sheriff Richard Berdnik.

At the reorganization meeting, the Board appointed Freeholder Cassandra “Sandi” Lazzara as its Freeholder Director for the 2020 term.

“I am humbled to serve once again as Passaic County's Freeholder Director," she said. "I look forward to continuing the work along with my colleagues and the administration on new and ongoing projects planned for the new year and decade ahead, including, expanding services to our disabled residents and connecting county services to constituents."

Sign Up for Wayne Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

“I am especially grateful to my colleagues for nominating me to serve the people of Passaic County in this capacity," continued Lazzara. I remain committed to serving this board and the residents of Passaic County with integrity and a steadfast sense of responsibility,” added Freeholder Director Lazzara.

Lepore was then elected by the Board to serve as Deputy Freeholder Director for the 2020 term.

“It’s an exciting new year and an exciting start to the new decade," said Lepore. "It is a privilege to be appointed to serve as this board’s Deputy Director, and to work alongside all my colleagues and the county administration to continue upholding Passaic County’s rich history and continue to build a bright future for our next generation."

Passaic County also appointed Matthew P. Jordan as the new County Counsel, and Kelly C. Ruffel replaced Jordan as the county’s new Deputy Administrator.


Passaic County Technical-Vocational Schools hosted a special swearing-in ceremony held on the evening of January 8. New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy was in Wayne for the second week in a row, this time to administer the Oath of Office to re-elected Passaic County Freeholders Lepore and Duffy. 

Judge George Rhode administered the Oath of Allegiance to Sheriff Berdnik.

“It’s an honor to be elected again to serve our Passaic County community," said Lepore. "The work is important to me, from securing grants to improving our park system, expanding services for low-income families, to funding local non-profits, the Board of Chosen Freeholders has contributed well to all our local communities."

Lepore finished with: “I look forward to continuing our work and bringing new projects that benefit all our residents and families.”

“I take pride in the fact that everything we do is for the benefit of all our residents in Passaic County,” said Duffy. “I want to thank the residents of Passaic County for their widespread support. It is your support that allows me to continue working on behalf of county residents and supporting our diverse population, including improving educational opportunities, supporting our veterans, senior citizens, and working toward creating resources for residents with special needs.”

Passaic County is governed by a seven-member Board of Chosen Freeholders. Each Freeholder is elected at large for a three-year term. The Board consists of six standing committees:

  • Administration & Finance
  • Health, Education and Community Affairs
  • Public Works and Buildings & Grounds
  • Law & Public Safety
  • Human Services
  • Planning and Economic Development.

After Berdnik's swearing-in, he said: “I appreciate the opportunity to continue keeping our county safe. I have spent my entire career making public safety my first priority, first as a Clifton Police officer, and now as your Sheriff. I will continue to be committed to keeping our communities safe while providing cost effective services to residents of Passaic County.”