WAYNE, NJ – On January 1 at noon the Wayne Township Municipal Council will hold its 174th annual reorganization meeting. Incoming Ward Five Councilwoman Fran Ritter will be sworn in by New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy who will also speak at the event.

Congresswoman Mikie Sherrill will also be attending the event, according to Clark Okun, the Chairman of the Wayne Democratic Organization.

The agenda to the Reorganization meeting has been published on TAPinto Wayne and can be found here.

Sign Up for Wayne Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The Passaic County Police and Fire Pipes & Drums will lead a procession into the Wayne Township Council Chambers to start the event.

Father Michael Lambardo of Our Lady of Consolation will give the invocation followed by the flag salute led by Boy Scout Troop 108. Allison Girardi of Wayne Valley High School will then sing the National Anthem.

Following the opening by Wayne Township Clerk Paul V. Margiotta, Governor Murphy will speak.

Then each of the Wayne Township Council Members will be sworn in for the year 2020.

The President of the Council for 2020 will be decided by vote and also sworn in.

Wayne Mayor Chris Vergano will give the State of the Township address.

Several important township appointments and Resolutions will be discussed and voted on.  For the complete list, see the meeting’s agenda here.

One Resolution of Note is #39 on the agenda.  It reads:



If passed, this honorific will establish TAPinto Wayne as the designated e-News Source for the Township of Wayne, which means that all public notices that must be published in the designated newspaper for the town will also be published in TAPinto Wayne for the purpose of keeping Wayne Township residents informed of all upcoming meetings, rescheduled or canceled meetings as well as agendas, and minutes.

If you plan to attend the reorganization meeting arrive early!