Caldwell University’’s Balkovic Named to All-Met First Team

Michael Balkovic Credits: Caldwell University

CALDWELL, NJ – Caldwell University senior forward Michael Balkovic (Neptune, NJ/St. John Vianney) was chosen to the All-Met Division II first team for the second year in a row, the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association announced on April 17. Balkovic, who also is a two-time all-Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference first team honoree, led the Cougars in scoring and rebounding for the third consecutive season.

Balkovic closed out his career at Caldwell with an outstanding senior season, averaging 16.6 points and 12.1 rebounds per game to rank eighth and second in the CACC, respectively. He also ranked sixth nationally in rebounding while posting the fourth-most double-doubles (19) in Division II. In his final game as a Cougar, a 73-69 loss to Holy Family in the CACC Tournament quarterfinals, Balkovic registered 25 points and 11 rebounds. The performance gave him a single season school-record 339 rebounds and allowed him to become just the third Caldwell men’s player with 1,000 career boards. He also moved into fourth place on the program’s all-time scoring list with 1,645 points.

Balkovic helped the Cougars go 15-13 this season and advance to the CACC Tournament for the second consecutive year.

Darian Hooker of NYIT was chosen the All-Met Division II Player of the Year, while Tobin Anderson of St. Thomas Aquinas was selected the All-Met Coach of the Year. The All-Met award winners will be honored at the 82nd NIT/MBWA Haggerty Awards Dinner on Wednesday, Apr. 22 at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, N.Y.

2015 All-Met Division II Men’s Basketball Teams
First Team
Darian Hooker, Senior, NYIT
Darien Davis, Senior, Dowling
Nick Smith, Senior, Dominican
Michael Balkovic, Senior, Caldwell
Chaz Watler, Sophomore, St. Thomas Aquinas
Duane Morgan, Senior, Adelphi

Second Team
J.R. Pringley, Senior, Felician
Ty Williams, Senior, LIU Post
Jeremiah Mordi, Senior, Queens
Marvin Williams, Senior, Bloomfield
Matt McLeod, Senior, Molloy
Shelton Mickell, Junior, Pace

All-Met Division II Player of the Year: Darian Hoolker, NYIT
All-Met Division II Coach of the Year: Tobin Anderson, St. Thomas Aquinas

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

West Essex

$100 OFF per Week for Summer Camp Now!

July 12, 2018

Guerrero Marital Arts is now offering an 8-week summer camp for summer 2018!

Pick which weeks you want!

Camp Weeks are:

July 16, July 23, July 30, August 6, August 13, August 20, August 27

Includes the following:

Fun (through Sports, Play and Games)
Field Trips (may cost extra)
Life Lessons
Reading Time
Martial Arts
A great place to ...

Bucco Couture Summer Sale on All Custom Suits, Shirts and Casual Wear

NUTLEY, NJ — Save while looking sharp! 20% off all summer wear an extra 10% savings for Military, Veterans and all first responders at Bucco Couture, 187 Franklin Avenue in Nutley, with the launch of some new products such as our tracksuit line, crushed cotton drawstring pants and jeans. 

We also carry Bugatchi and Rober Graham casual wear as well as stretch high V-neck ...

Newark Lures Amazon With $1 Billion Payroll Tax Incentive

July 14, 2018

NEWARK, NJ - Amazon will get a payroll tax break at a cost of $1 billion to the city should the company open its second headquarters in Newark, according to one of two ordinances approved by the Newark City Council council to sweeten the deal for the corporate giant and stand out among other locations vying for Amazon’s so-called HQ2.

“The City Council has brought Newark a ...

Upcoming Events


Mon, July 16, 10:00 AM

Roseland Free Public Library, Roseland

Walking for Fitness

Health & Wellness


Mon, July 16, 4:00 PM

Roseland Free Public Library, Roseland

Lego Mindstorms


Mon, July 16, 6:30 PM

West Caldwell Public Library, West Caldwell

Great American Read Book Discussions

Arts & Entertainment Food & Drink

Public Invited to Essex County Opioid Use Prevention Task Force Meeting

July 15, 2018

CALDWELL, NJ — All Essex County residents, mayors and councils, law enforcement members, school officials, clergy members, civic organizations and more are invited to join in the next Essex County Opioid Use Prevention Task Force meeting on Tuesday at 5:30 p.m. to discuss how the Essex County communities can join work together to eradicate this epidemic.

The meeting will be held at the ...


Mar 23, 1932 - Jun 2, 2018
Obituary - Donald J. Cooney, March 23, 1932 to June 2, 2018 Donald J. Cooney, 86, of North ...
Read more

Education: A Bedrock of Democracy, Civic Engagement and Economic Prosperity

July 5, 2018

More than 240 years ago, our nation’s founders envisioned a country where individuals could forge their own destinies and not be constrained by the circumstances of birth. The essential concept was that people could govern themselves and participate in democracy, or what Benjamin Franklin and others called “a great experiment.” The vision was bold and has flourished as the ...

Extra Time

It was close to 70 minutes into the match and I had to go to the bathroom.  Badly.

As fans watching the World Cup know too well, bathroom breaks are a serious dilemma, especially for those who don’t have a TV in the loo.  This biological necessity is exasperated by beer, which during World Cup matches also fuels a strong propensity to throw chairs and instigate riots.