CALDWELL, NJ – Caldwell University senior forward Emily Caswell (Wakefield, RI/Prout School) was named the All-Met Division II Co-Player of the Year for women’s basketball, the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association announced on April 16. Caswell led the Cougars to a 19-11 record and a share of the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference North Division crown.

Caswell had an outstanding senior season, earning Daktronics All-American second team honors and receiving All-American honorable mention from the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association. The CACC and ECAC Player of the Year, she led the nation with 24 double-doubles while ranking second nationally in rebounding, averaging 14.0 rebounds per contest. Caswell, who led the CACC in both scoring and rebounding, averaged 20.8 points per game to rank 10th in Division II. A four-time CACC and ECAC Player of the Week, she set the school record for rebounds in a season (421) while scoring more points this year (624) than any Cougar since the 1991-92 campaign.

Caswell ends her career at Caldwell with 1,486 points and 929 rebounds to rank among the program's all-time leaders. During her four years, she helped the Cougars advance to the semifinals of the CACC Tournament four times, including appearances in the championship game in 2012 and 2013. Also an excellent student, Caswell was chosen to the Capital One Academic All-American third team last month. She also made the CACC All-Academic Team and was selected Caldwell's nominee for NJAIAW Woman of the Year.

Caswell is the second Caldwell student-athlete to be named the All-Met Division Women’s Basketball Player of the Year, following former teammate and All-American Jeanette Anderson, who received the honor last year. Caswell shares this year’s award with Madison Rowland of Queens College.

Caswell will be honored along with the other all-Met performers at the 82nd NIT/MBWA Haggerty Awards Dinner on Wednesday, Apr. 22 at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, N.Y.

2015 All-Met Division II Women’s Basketball Teams
First Team
Emily Caswell, Senior, Caldwell
Madison Rowland, Senior, Queens
Kelly Mannix, Senior, Adelphi
Dina Ragab, Junior, NYIT
Anh-Dao Tran, Senior, Adelphi
Chelsea Williams, Senior, LIU Post

Second Team
Shanice Allen, Sophomore, NYIT
Calli Balfour, Sophomore, Adelphi
Nyasia Davis, Junior, LIU Post
MacKenzie Rowland, Junior, Queens
Tierra Scott, Senior, Bloomfield

Co-Players of the Year: Emily Caswell, Caldwell and Madison Rowland, Queens
Coach of the Year: Heather Jacobs, Adelphi