NORTH CALDWELL, NJ - The West Essex High School chapter of the National Honor Society inducted new junior members and three new senior members at a special ceremony in the high school auditorium on April 18.

West Essex National Honor Society President Zoe Elfenbein presented a speech at the event educating staff, parents and  inductees on how the NHS "prides itself upon the balanced structure of four main pillars: scholarship, leadership, service and character." The National Honor Society members have been involved with many school-based and community service programs and raised money for teenage cancer patients, hurricane victims and the Special Olympics team, she said.

The 2012-13 inductees of the West Essex National Honor Society   
Credit: Allison Freeman

The senior officers of the 2012-13 West Essex chapter of the Natonal Honor Society are:
  • President
    Zoe Elfenbein of North Caldwell
  • Co-Vice Presidents
    Ally Gonzalez of Fairfield
    Aly Petronchak of Fairfield
  • Treasurer
    Nick Soriano of Roseland
  • Secretary
    Tommy Haversang of Fairfield

The president encouraged inductees to act as "role models for their peers" and told them "you now hold yourself to a higher standard that should be upheld throughout the entirety of senior year."  Members all "maintain a dedication to academics and a passion for community involvement."

Sign Up for E-News

The seniors honored AP Chemistry and College Prep Chemistry teacher Dr. Denise D'Meo as Teacher of the Year.  Ben Gersten and Dominique Ruszala each gave speeches about D'meo and spoke about their learning experiences in her chemistry classes.

For further information:
West Essex High School and Middle School
65 West Greenbrook Road
North Caldwell, NJ 07006
Facebook Page:  West Essex Regional School District

From left to right: National Honor Society President Zoe Elfenbein, Co-Vice President
Ally Gonzalez, Treasurer Nick Soriano, Co Vice-President Aly Petronchak and Secretary Tommy Haversang  Credits: Allison Freeman