WEST ORANGE, NJ – West Orange and New Jersey history will be made as a premier international automobile competition, the Concours d’Elegance, holds court on the grounds of Glenmont in Llewellyn Park from Oct. 16-18. The Edison Concours will be a ‘true’ Concours, including a celebration not only of automobiles, but fashion, food and history. 

Glenmont is the home of West Orange resident and inventor Thomas Edison, a fitting locale for the 80 automobiles that will be participating in several classes during the global automobile event.

“This is my passion and labor of love,” said Judge Joseph Cassini, founder of the Edison Concours d’Elegance.

Sign Up for E-News

Cassini, a former New Jersey Superior Court Judge, has been a resident of Llewellyn Park since 1953. He and his family are multiple award-winning Concours participants as well.

“The Edison Concours will help to provide an understanding of the place of the automobile in history and how integral it is to us,” he said.

The public is invited to view the automobiles on Sunday, Oct. 18, from 9:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. The Awards Ceremony will be held from 2:30 to 4:00 p.m. The entrance fee is $25 per person at the gate (cash and credit cards accepted). Children under 12 and members of the military in uniform may enter at no charge.

Attendees will park at 80 Main Street, where shuttle buses will take them to the Concours site at Glenmont.

The planners of this event are working with sponsors, volunteers and the Township of West Orange to produce this event, which will benefit three non-profit organizations: the Edison Innovation Foundation, the Llewellyn Park Preservation Foundation and the West Orange Scholarship Fund.

“We are excited to support these West Orange charitable organizations while presenting the spectacular Edison Concours,” Cassini said.   

Judging will take place in several classes, including:      

  • Class A- Electric
  • Class B- Antique, Brass, Veteran (through 1925)
  • Class C- American Classic Open 1926-1933
  • Class D- American Classic Open 1934-1942
  • Class E- American Classic Closed 1926-1933
  • Class F- American Classic Closed 1934-1942
  • Class G- European Classic Open 1926-1933
  • Class H- European Classic Open 1934-1942
  • Class I- European Classic Closed 1926-1933
  • Class J- European Classic Closed 1934-1942
  • Class K- American Luxury Open 1946-1959
  • Class L- American Luxury Closed 1946-1959
  • Class M- European Luxury Open 1946-1959
  • Class N- European Luxury Closed 1946-1959
  • Class O- Sports Cars 1946-1959
  • Class P- Pre-War Preservation

Specialty awards including the “People’s Choice Award,” “Mayor’s Award,” and “Edison Innovation Award,” will be announced in addition to the Best in Class “Tommy Award” and “The Edison Illumination Trophy,” presented to second and third place winners in all categories.